PDA

View Full Version : Resetting DVD burner



kountryken
11-07-2010, 10:18 AM
Is it possible to reset the DVD Region on CD/DVD burner? It is on Region 4 and isn't working.

gary67
11-07-2010, 10:21 AM
Can you try using a free video program such as VLC or Media player classic?

Snorkbox
11-07-2010, 10:45 AM
You may be able to get updated firmware. What make and model is it?

Snorkbox
11-07-2010, 11:19 AM
Missed the edit period but I was able to change the firmware on mine and it went to Region 2 and I can change it back to 4 which it was locked at before I did the upgrade. It should work on 4 anyway if you are playing Reg 4 videos or region free videos.

8ftmetalhaed
11-07-2010, 12:14 PM
On my dvd burner in my pc I flashed the firmware in my pc and it let me change the region up to 4 or 5 times but then I could reset the counter using the alternative flash utility. I believe I left it alone after a few times because apparently it can break the drive sometimes, but meh. It's about 40 bucks for a dvd drive.

The only reason I did it was because believe it or not, I bought 2 nz dvd's and they had different region codes. (one was region two....)

Roger Hunt
11-07-2010, 08:34 PM
http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php
Firmware here