PDA

View Full Version : Telecom CDMA



rny
09-07-2010, 10:58 AM
Reported today that Telecom is going to drop it's CDMA service shortly. I wonder if they will offer replacement mobiles to those of us who are using this service?

johcar
09-07-2010, 11:01 AM
2012 is shortly???

pcuser42
09-07-2010, 11:03 AM
They're dropping WorldMode and 3G. http://pcworld.co.nz/pcworld/pcw.nsf/feature/telecom-gives-dates-for-cdma-network-service-closures

johcar
09-07-2010, 11:06 AM
They're dropping WorldMode and CDMA 3G. http://pcworld.co.nz/pcworld/pcw.nsf/feature/telecom-gives-dates-for-cdma-network-service-closures

Fixed that for you Alex...

Billy T
09-07-2010, 11:07 AM
Bugger! :groan:

Ok, so it is not until mid-2012, and i don't need the world roaming service, but I have a Samsung CDMA/TDMA phone so I wonder if they are going to move to TDMA or some other more recent variant?

Could be XTremely annoying.

Must go take a look........

Cheers

Billy

johcar
09-07-2010, 11:12 AM
I'm sure they will do what they did when they shut down 025 - offer replacement phones (crappy ones probably) that are compatible with XT.

IIRC, the replacements for 025 phones were bottom of the range offerings, so if you see a bargain in the meantime, it might pay to upgrade earlier.

Chilling_Silence
09-07-2010, 11:15 AM
Dunno why you'd want to stay on their CDMA network personally. Sure they had a rough start with XT over the Dec -> Mar period, but that's been ironed out and the XT network is basically superior in every way.

Most people will have upgraded their phones by that time, I heard the usage-life of a Cellphone was < 2 years. It's already happened with their 025 network, and is just simply part of natural progression :)

paulw
09-07-2010, 11:23 AM
Bugger! :groan:

Ok, so it is not until mid-2012, and i don't need the world roaming service, but I have a Samsung CDMA/TDMA phone so I wonder if they are going to move to TDMA or some other more recent variant?



If you have a CDMA/GSM roaming fone the say like the Samsung W531 CDMA roaming will still work but the GSM roaming side of it won't..

pcuser42
09-07-2010, 11:46 AM
IIRC, the replacements for 025 phones were bottom of the range offerings, so if you see a bargain in the meantime, it might pay to upgrade earlier.

Even the cheap phones on XT have a lot of good features ;)

GameJunkie
09-07-2010, 12:03 PM
im on the old CDMA network, but im not gonna upgrade(?) to the XT network until i have to.


and when i can afford it.


what are the iphone like on XT anyway??

PaulD
09-07-2010, 12:07 PM
If you have a CDMA/GSM roaming fone the say like the Samsung W531 CDMA roaming will still work but the GSM roaming side of it won't..

Telecom are moving away from CDMA so why get it backwards?

"With the growth and expansion of XT services Telecom will close its CDMA-based WorldMode Roaming service on 28 October 2010 and will close its domestic CDMA 3G data network, known as EVDO on 30 November 2010."

If you are here just talking you can wait till 2012 or change as you like.

davidmmac
09-07-2010, 12:09 PM
Dunno why you'd want to stay on their CDMA network personally.

My Dad seems to think that the CDMA network has better coverage in (remote) rural areas, which is why his work hasn't upgraded. I've got no idea if he's right or not though.

johcar
09-07-2010, 12:16 PM
im on the old CDMA network, but im not gonna upgrade(?) to the XT network until i have to.


and when i can afford it.


what are the iphone like on XT anyway??

iPhone (3GS) has better performance on XT than the network that actually sells the phone. :lol:

I believe the iPhone 4 is optimised for Vodafone though...

Snorkbox
09-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Am I the only person left who does not use a cellphone of any sort on any network?

pcuser42
09-07-2010, 01:01 PM
Am I the only person left who does not use a cellphone of any sort on any network?

Surprisingly, you're not :eek:

http://bettertransport.org.nz/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2069&p=53523#p53523

GameJunkie
09-07-2010, 01:01 PM
iPhone (3GS) has better performance on XT than the network that actually sells the phone. :lol:

I believe the iPhone 4 is optimised for Vodafone though...

hmmmm.

optimised how? the frequency it operates on or?

Chilling_Silence
09-07-2010, 01:35 PM
Yes, correct on both counts johcar. It's the frequencies that they operate on, and yes the iPhone4 will work.

AT&T = XT.

My iPhone ran like crap on Vodafone but AMAZINGLY on XT.

mikebartnz
09-07-2010, 02:16 PM
Dunno why you'd want to stay on their CDMA network personally.
Some people only use their cell phone for phone calls.

PaulD
09-07-2010, 02:56 PM
Yes, correct on both counts johcar. It's the frequencies that they operate on, and yes the iPhone4 will work.



"I believe the iPhone 4 is optimised for Vodafone though..." isn't correct.

The iPhone 4 includes 900Mhz (Vodafone 3G) support as well as the 850MHz that Telecom use but that's hardly optimising for Vodafone. Vodafone have to build out their 900Mhz network to catch up.

Chilling_Silence
09-07-2010, 04:30 PM
Some people only use their cell phone for phone calls.

Which is good, with XT you're likely to get better quality in more places, so you can hear your other party better ;)

paulw
09-07-2010, 07:29 PM
We still use two CDMA fones at home here because they are on Onebill, something that you can't do on XT..

Chilling_Silence
09-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Not quite:
http://www.telecom.co.nz/mobile/yourmobile/plansandpricing

Agent_24
09-07-2010, 08:03 PM
Am I the only person left who does not use a cellphone of any sort on any network?

No, I don't have one either

GameJunkie
09-07-2010, 11:22 PM
Yes, correct on both counts johcar. It's the frequencies that they operate on, and yes the iPhone4 will work.

AT&T = XT.

My iPhone ran like crap on Vodafone but AMAZINGLY on XT.


if only they(3gs) wern't $1379 :(.

better start saving now till when they shutdown CDMA in 2012 :D

Erayd
09-07-2010, 11:36 PM
if only they(3gs) wern't $1379 :(.They're not - Apple sells them for $899. See here (http://store.apple.com/nz/browse/home/shop_iphone/family/iphone?mco=OTY2ODA0NQ). Unless you're after the 32GB one? Prices on those should drop, a lot, as soon as the iPhone 4 is released here.

GameJunkie
09-07-2010, 11:42 PM
at DSE theyre shown at $1379- the 32GB version

i'd get the biggest capacity available.

how come they only got the 8Gb 3GS on the apple store and nothing else???

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2010, 02:37 AM
You mean you want the one with the more GBs?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FL7yD-0pqZg

:D

paulw
10-07-2010, 08:24 PM
Not quite:
http://www.telecom.co.nz/mobile/yourmobile/plansandpricing

This plan costs you $10 / month even if you don't make any calls where as the CDMA version only cost when you make calls..

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2010, 10:49 PM
True, but it's still there .... :D

Sue
12-07-2010, 09:32 AM
Prepay (no sim) CDMA phone for emergency & fishing use.. $20 a couple of times a year, Great.

The Error Guy
12-07-2010, 10:25 AM
Apple sell them for a decent price, 8gig is about 200 USD, the exchange rate and something else kick in and smacks it up to 850-1000 Same goes for the rest of them. When Thakorn goes back to Thailand this year about 4 people are getting 3Gs's through him and i'm getting a iPhone 4 (if they fix the problem) if not then ill take apart the antennae and rebuild so they actually WORK

Chilling_Silence
12-07-2010, 10:58 AM
It's nice to *say* you'll pull apart what is quite possibly the most anticipated device of the year and rebuild it so it *works*, but if it was that simple then don't you think somebody else would have already done it a long time ago, what with all the attention this has got? I somehow doubt you'll be able to simply "rebuild" the device ... Short of a bumper, or some tape so you can't short the two antenna, there's not a lot that's going to fix it.
It's also just as easy to import devices, speaking from experience, but the reason that they put in so much margins is due to things like returns, GST they're charged themselves etc etc

Sue, you can also do the same thing with XT, or 2degrees, or Vodafone.

wratterus
12-07-2010, 05:20 PM
... ill take apart the antennae and rebuild so they actually WORK

Good luck with that, let us know how it goes.

Agent_24
12-07-2010, 07:43 PM
But how can it possibly have any problems? It was made by Apple, and blessed by Steve Jobs himself!

The antenna works exactly how it is supposed to, if you think the antenna is broken then you are wrong.

Pay some more tributes to Jobs because you are clearly not brainwashed enough.

Chilling_Silence
12-07-2010, 07:49 PM
:lol: