PDA

View Full Version : Reload Vista



kfoffice
07-07-2010, 07:21 PM
I hope someone can help me please on how to reload Vista on my laptop.

I have a toshiba satellite A100, with Intel Core (TM)2 T5200 1.6 running Vista Home Premium, 3GB. The laptop came with Norton 360. It's been freezing on and off. I want to reload Vista afresh.

I've backup up all my important into an external harddrive.

I see under Disk Management there is a hidden partion of 1.46GB showing there. But how do I reload Vista from that hidden partion?

Speedy Gonzales
07-07-2010, 07:30 PM
Reboot and press whatever the function key is to restore the system. Doing a restore wont remove nortons. If it came on it, it'll be there later. Remove it for good after. There maybe a program in the menu to make the restore cd's / dvd

wainuitech
07-07-2010, 07:32 PM
The Full instructions (http://www.ehow.com/how_6140934_recover-satellite-a100-recovery-discs.html) to activate the recovery partition.

Or if you cane be bothered with the Link :D



Step 1

Transfer the personal files you need from the Toshiba Satellite A100's hard drive to a storage device such as a rewritable DVD or USB memory stick. Restart the A100's operating system.

Step 2

Press down and hold the "0" key until the "Toshiba Hard Drive Recovery Utility" menu appears on the screen. Press the "1" key to access the "Restore Original Factory Image" option.

Step 3

Click "Yes" to begin the recovery process on your Toshiba Satellite A100. Wait for the process to finish and then press "Enter" to restart the laptop's operating system.

Step 4

Use the prompts that appear to set up a new user name for your operating system's profile. Click the drop-down menus and select the time zone and date information.

Step 5

Follow the prompts on the screen to set up your Internet connection and finish recovering the Toshiba Satellite A100 laptop.

icow
07-07-2010, 08:20 PM
Why use vista. Load up 3.1 (http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=110906). See what goodiesguy has to say about a CD copy for your laptop. Remember he's not promoting Piracy...

Sorry, the real answers above if you must. Or get a older/ish version of AVG (7.x) and make a recovery CD and boot from that.

kfoffice
07-07-2010, 11:12 PM
Thanks guys for your suggestions. I'll give it a go now. Obviously I'll have to reload all my programs later but hopefully the laptop will be much faster than what it currently is.

Snorkbox
07-07-2010, 11:23 PM
Once you restore everything it might be a good idea to remove Norton and put on MSE or Avast or Nod32. Nod32 would be best if you don't mind paying.