PDA

View Full Version : HP Scanjet 5400c - opinions?



Tony
19-06-2010, 06:03 PM
I'm thinking of bidding on an HP Scanjet 5400c on TradeMe. I've seen various reviews, but I wonder if anyone here has personal experience of such a beast and can offer an informed opinion?

Tony
20-06-2010, 02:13 PM
bump - has nobody ever used one of these?:help:

pctek
20-06-2010, 03:51 PM
Bit elderly. If your O/S is XP or older I suppose it's OK. But newer, I wouldn't bother.

robbyp
20-06-2010, 03:52 PM
I have a 5470c and it is OK, and even works in vista, just, but the software is a bit dodgy in vista. It isn't actually designed to work in vista or 7.

Tony
20-06-2010, 06:01 PM
I have a 5470c and it is OK, and even works in vista, just, but the software is a bit dodgy in vista. It isn't actually designed to work in vista or 7.OK, that's interesting and useful. I'm looking to change scanner because I can't get my current (SCSI) one to work with WIn7, so it looks like I might have been going from the frying pan into the fire!

pctek
20-06-2010, 06:21 PM
I'm looking to change scanner because I can't get my current one to work with WIn7

Take a look on the manufacturers website first to see if it has drivers. No drivers - no buy.

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Yup doesnt look like there are any drivers for Vista or Win7. They only go to XP. For the HP Scanjet 5400c. However, some have managed to install drivers for Win7 32 bit (http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Operating-systems-and-software/Need-driver-for-HP-Scanjet-5400c-scanner-using-Windows-7/m-p/178907)

Sweep
20-06-2010, 07:29 PM
You could always try XP mode for the scanner if your system supports same.

robbyp
20-06-2010, 11:36 PM
OK, that's interesting and useful. I'm looking to change scanner because I can't get my current (SCSI) one to work with WIn7, so it looks like I might have been going from the frying pan into the fire!


If it works on vista, it should work on win7. I don't really have any problems using mine on vista, although the HP website says it doesn't have drivers for it. You can also use the scanning software inside photoshop. These scanners were over $600 in their day , so I don't know if $60 is good value. You can get a new canon printer scanner combo for $60 at paperplus atm.

pctek
21-06-2010, 09:13 AM
If it works on vista, it should work on win7. .

Wrong.
Friend had a modem that wouldn't, even though it had Vista 64bit drivers.


Tony - I meant, take a look at some other models - then check for drivers.