PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a server?



Nomad
02-06-2010, 09:47 AM
Hi, just out of interest, I know some people at my course and a no. of you here have a server? Why is that? Is it for interest, a peer to peer at home should be sufficient right. Less management but a local driver is always faster right ...... :)

nedkelly
02-06-2010, 10:07 AM
do you mean a proper server? Or a box running as a server?

Nomad
02-06-2010, 10:13 AM
either or really ... here at least i heard some have a file server or running windows server .....

nedkelly
02-06-2010, 10:15 AM
Well I got a few boxes run as file servers, 2 that are webservers and also an HFS server as well. So I guess I am a bit over the top.

EDIT: Oh forgot about my forum as well.

nofam
02-06-2010, 10:25 AM
I have an old Pentium 4 box running as a File server for DVD rips/music/photo's etc - SWMBO and I use VNC to control it via our laptops, and it's hooked up to the TV/home theatre system as well. We both have batch files set up to turn it on/off at will, and it has Teamviewer running so I can access it from work etc.

It's just running XP Pro, but once I get a WD TV Live, I'll put Debian on it and just use it purely as a NAS box.

SKT174
02-06-2010, 11:29 AM
I've a Pentium 4 running as my domain controller, web, ftp server, I host a private forum on there, it's also a file server, it's so convenience to have a domain name & server.

CYaBro
02-06-2010, 12:03 PM
We have an old crappy PC at the office running SBS2003.
At home we have a Windows Home Server box, which is a scaled down version of Server 2003 with some extra features for backups, media streaming etc.
I also use the WHS box as the TV server, it has two DVB-S tuner cards in it for receiving Freeview using MediaPortal.

robsonde
03-06-2010, 12:05 PM
yep I have a server, not just an old desktop running as a server, but a real full rack mount server.

it runs my mail spool, and it's a 2TB samba share for the flat.
also has a web server on it, but I dont use much for web stuff.

pcuser42
03-06-2010, 05:01 PM
I've got an old Dell Optiplex PC running down a very stripped down copy of XP Pro, it just sits there and stores files.

Chilling_Silence
04-06-2010, 09:55 AM
I have my WDTV Live acting as my fileserver
I have an Alix.6b2 acting as a testing box, for anything I feel like at the time such as FreeNAS, Asterisk, FreeSWITCH
I've got a P4 2.4 which I use to use as the Media PC, but the WDTV replaced that and I loaned the graphics card to somebody else so it's sitting beside the bed doing nothing right now.
I have a Foxconn 45CS Atom board which I use as a testing system for Elastix and FreeSWITCH
I've also got another D945GCLF Atom system which I'm yet to find a use for...

I also have a VPS in Auckland and in Wellington which I use for a variety of different things :)