PDA

View Full Version : screen resolution



notechyet
28-05-2010, 05:16 PM
A friend of mine has the following setup:
"Computer is Inspiron 1564 Laptop
Graphics card is 512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330 Native res = 1366x768 Screen is AOC 210V Native res = 1680x1050 Basically the laptop won't allow me any higher than it 1366x768 when running the AOC"
Would anyone of you have an idea what's going on here?

Thanks

SolMiester
28-05-2010, 05:19 PM
Change power options so closing lid doesnt put lappy to sleep and from then on when the laptop lid is closed the image will go full screen on the external monitor when in clone mode at 16x10 res...default mode is clone, but because a smaller resolution is being used, the smaller become the max

pctek
28-05-2010, 05:19 PM
While the monitor is capable, the graphics chip is not. I'd say.

wratterus
28-05-2010, 05:21 PM
The graphics card on that particular notebook should be more than capable, it should be able to output 1920*1080 on the HDMI.

Is it running in clone mode? If it's running in clone (eg same thing displayed on both screens) then it will only crank up to the lowest resolution of the two screens. Go into graphics options and extend your desktop to the second monitor, and then you should be able to adjust the resolutions independently.

notechyet
28-05-2010, 06:27 PM
Guys/Ladies
Thanks for the replies. To me sounds promising.
I'll be forwarding this tonight and hopefully get back with a positive reply!
:thanks:thanks:thanks

pctek
28-05-2010, 10:00 PM
The graphics card on that particular notebook should be more than capable, it should be able to output 1920*1080 on the HDMI.


He said: "Graphics card is 512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330 Native res = 1366x768 ".

wratterus
28-05-2010, 10:56 PM
Yep - but that is the native res of the notebook LCD screen, not the res the card is capable of outputting through an external output.

hueybot3000
28-05-2010, 11:14 PM
He said: "Graphics card is 512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330 Native res = 1366x768 ".

That is only stating the native res of the lcd used in the lappy. Almost all graphics chips ive come across (obvioulsy not the oldies) have been fine with 1920x1080/1200. Although alot of laptops are pitiful when it comes to playing 1080p video

notechyet
29-05-2010, 05:15 PM
Back again
My mate has not been able to change the resolution as when he extends to the second desktop and goes to the advanced settings it gave him only one option above the laptop resolution of something like 1920x13?? though only with 25 hz.
So we are stuck.

Greven
29-05-2010, 05:49 PM
Are there any updated drivers available?

notechyet
29-05-2010, 06:46 PM
I have forwarded some links with drivers though not heard back.