PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using the final version of Google Chrome 5, on a 64 bit OS??



Speedy Gonzales
26-05-2010, 02:33 PM
This has just been released. I'm just trying it out. At least it lets me save passwords for some sites (it saved jack before).

Anyway, If you go to about, does it say update server not available (error 3)?? It looks like this error means an entry is wrong in the registry. Which doesnt help, because the entry doesnt exist.

This option is so you can update it, if there's an update right? Do you have to install Google updater, for this to work? Since its not part of the install?

I dont know if this happens with 32 bit. But whats the point in having it, if all it says it update server not available?

Sweep
26-05-2010, 02:37 PM
I'm not using Chrome.

I'll let you and anothers test same.

GameJunkie
26-05-2010, 02:54 PM
i'll give it a shot

pctek
26-05-2010, 09:43 PM
I just tried it, I had v4.something.......clicked Update, it thought about it for about 30 seconds, told me to close Chrome and reopen it and voila, version 5.

I don't like Chrome though, hate its minimalism....I just use it for those sites that firefox javascript has issues with.

goodiesguy
26-05-2010, 10:02 PM
Firefox 3.6.3 is better than google chrome in my opinion. google chrome is too simple and not very customizable

Speedy Gonzales
26-05-2010, 10:17 PM
Well FF maybe better, but I'm not talking about FF

inphinity
27-05-2010, 10:12 AM
I'm using Chrome 5 on Win7 x64 at home and don't get any such errors. So much better than FF.

Speedy Gonzales
27-05-2010, 10:22 AM
Well it doesnt bring up a message. Since its already there. When you select about. Oh well, strange that I'm the only one seeing it. With Vista and Win7 x64