PDA

View Full Version : DHCP and DNS



utopian201
26-05-2010, 11:16 AM
Hi
When you set your computer (XP) to get its IP and DNS settings automatically, when you type in
ipconfig /all

Does it show the DNS server as your routers IP, or is it the ISP's DNS server?

ronyville
26-05-2010, 11:18 AM
I would say your router's IP.

fred_fish
26-05-2010, 11:33 AM
It will say whatever the DHCP server supplies.
Most SOHO routers have a caching DNS server and will supply their own internal IP.
I have seen some that pass the ISP DNS server addresses (or whatever is set in the control panel) for direct use by the clients.

KarameaDave
26-05-2010, 11:37 AM
Just checked one of mine, it gives the ISP DNS server first
Then my router. (Vista the same, also Linux Mint)

Agent_24
26-05-2010, 12:46 PM
It will say whatever the DHCP server supplies.
Most SOHO routers have a caching DNS server and will supply their own internal IP.
I have seen some that pass the ISP DNS server addresses (or whatever is set in the control panel) for direct use by the clients.

What he said :D

Mine (Dynalink RTA1320) uses its own IP (192.168.0.1)