PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 performance, or lack of!



aidanmaz
25-05-2010, 10:01 AM
After this thread (http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=109787) i thought everything was sorted. Installed windows 7, trend micro internet security 2010, firefox, wlm, aim, Office 07 etc. Opening programs seems to take forever. Even vista was faster on this eee. it has 2gb ram, 1.6ghz atom processor and 160gb hdd. Is there anything i can do to make it....bearable? Itunes took 2 minutes 22 secs to launch!!! Interestingly windows loads pretty fast. and accessing documents and the like isnt too bad. any ideas? do i need to post a HJT log?

wainuitech
25-05-2010, 10:51 AM
If its the same OS "Win Vista Business" the fact that its only got a 1.6ghz atom processor may be most of the problems.

From all the netbooks, etc that I have worked on or seen that run W7 they are all the starter edition which doesn't have all the fancy power hogging extras and graphics. Heres some listings from Ingram Micro eee has starter edition (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Eee.jpg)

Try disabling all the higher features, and the speed should come up.

Note: trend micro internet security 2010 will be slowing things down as well.

DeSade
25-05-2010, 11:06 AM
+1 for wainuitech, mine runs great on win7 starter.

aidanmaz
25-05-2010, 12:07 PM
oops my bad. Prolly should have researched that before i rushed out and got win7 home premium. I installed the intel chipset drivers which helped. A bit. There is a slight delay in loading programs, ie firefox, itunes. Word and TMIS seems to open pretty fast. maybe i should turn aero off

Battleneter2
25-05-2010, 12:19 PM
Opening programs taking forever sounds HDD related not CPU. I would run a full defrag and yes this should be done after a fresh install.

Not sure about "trend micro internet security 2010" no experience with it, but if I had to point a finger...... Try uninstalling and run a few tests.

pctek
25-05-2010, 12:33 PM
Opening programs seems to take forever. Even vista was faster on this eee. it has 1.6ghz atom processor

Thats why.

KarameaDave
25-05-2010, 12:51 PM
Turn off Aero, it's a resource hog.

This site has helpful tweaking info.

http://www.blackviper.com/

aidanmaz
25-05-2010, 12:57 PM
I prolly shud have put the original system on it (XP home) but now i have used the win7 license, i dont want to waste it, nor do i want to waste the 3 user trend micro (ive used two licenses now, one on my stolen laptop and one on here the eee)

Agent_24
25-05-2010, 05:29 PM
You could sell the Windows 7 on TradeMe and install XP

Nomad
25-05-2010, 05:55 PM
Just a related question, when you buy a Netbook is a OS CD provided or at least on a hidden partition?


Cheers.

Agent_24
25-05-2010, 06:07 PM
You should get one or the other, yes

wainuitech
25-05-2010, 06:12 PM
Generally netbooks dont have optical drives. As the guy found out it was awkward trying to install his Office programs, and other programs he wanted -- all on CD's

Last one I serviced had a recovery partition but no media.

Agent_24
25-05-2010, 06:14 PM
The Eee 701 XP version had a DVD, they expected you to buy a USB DVD drive (with 4GB SSD a recovery partition isn't possible)

wainuitech
25-05-2010, 06:20 PM
The last netbook I worked on had a 160GB HDD, running XP.

Ran quite well for what it was.

The starter edition of W7 takes just over 9GB.
I'm on one now --One word - :yuck:

Mind you it is damn fast.