PDA

View Full Version : replacement charger



GameJunkie
22-05-2010, 11:46 AM
now that i've figured out the problem with my laptop i need to get a new adapter.

anyone used
http://www.laptopbattery.co.nz/home.asp

or

http://www.laptopbattery.net.nz/index.php?main_page=index

? or know of a another place?

cheers

Driftwood
22-05-2010, 12:21 PM
Yes they are ok, I've bought a bit of gear off them.

Usually find cheaper stuff on trademe, just depends what you want.

Nomad
22-05-2010, 12:22 PM
just a note, you it's the charger? maybe get somewhere with a return policy in case ..

GameJunkie
22-05-2010, 01:59 PM
@Driftwood: i've got several options to get a new one, just waiting on hearing back from them.

@Nomad: it is definatley the charger. my dad tested the connections; from the wall plug socket to the bit which plugs into the "brick part" there was power, but when he tried it connected together there was nothing from the plug which goes into the laptop.

rang bondandbond , they said cos its out of warrenty buy a couple months they dont want anything to do with it.

somebody
22-05-2010, 02:03 PM
They are ok, but the last time I made a warranty claim I had to push them quite hard and firmly insist that they honour the warranty on the item (which was still under warranty at the time). I wouldn't deal with them again as a result of that experience.

Renmoo
22-05-2010, 03:26 PM
What laptop charger are you looking for, GameJunkie?

GameJunkie
22-05-2010, 03:52 PM
What laptop charger are you looking for, GameJunkie?

my laptop is a HP dv5 1209ax

Billy T
22-05-2010, 04:01 PM
Jaycar have a wide range of laptop power supplies at good prices. Take your laptop and old charger in, and the staff will help you find the one you need. They are much cheaper than OEM.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

GameJunkie
22-05-2010, 04:19 PM
i'll look into that

cheers Billy

Alex B
22-05-2010, 04:56 PM
Get a genuine one, seen generic ones cause other issues, such as the pin not being the right size, causing movement in the socket which breaks it.

Nomad
22-05-2010, 05:00 PM
IT processes would say get a charger that matches the amps and volts. Not just something that might work.