PDA

View Full Version : secondary drive no picking up in 7 home premium



goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 02:36 PM
its not showing in my computer. mabye a restart mite help?

windows 7 is going unbelievibly fast

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 02:40 PM
check the cables as well.

Sweep
14-05-2010, 02:48 PM
Is the secondary drive showing in the BIOS?

If IDE drives then they need to be jumpered correctly. Normally boot drive as master.

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 02:53 PM
yes they do show in bios. will probably just need a restart

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 02:59 PM
i cant believe how i used windows vista, waiting 5 to 10 minutes b4 i could use it. windows 7 is ready really quickly

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 03:07 PM
Most people find it to be an improvement.
With sufficient RAM however, Vista is not too bad.
I use Linux Mint most of the time though, so not too
concerned about changing to 7.

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 03:10 PM
i have a disk set called "suse linux professional" which my uncle gave me as it was lying around his work doing nothing. it has 2dvds and 5 cds. wonder if its good?

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 03:22 PM
I would stick with your new Win7 for now and sort that first, if it were me.

Suse is a very capable OS, what version?

Linux comes in many flavours, some suit one person, some another.

If you are starting out, then I would recommend something like
Linux Mint (which I prefer), PCLinuxOS (which my wife likes)
or, if you are willing to fiddle about, Puppy Linux is light on resources
and runs very well from a USB thumb drive.

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 03:33 PM
it is version 9.3. um also. when i go to install firefox on this it says "you may not have the nesisary premisions etc.." it calles itself run as. i click it to run as me and then nothing happens. im stuck with ie8 at the moment

Sweep
14-05-2010, 03:35 PM
And of course you will try out the Win7 backup too won't you!!!

Sweep
14-05-2010, 03:36 PM
it is version 9.3. um also. when i go to install firefox on this it says "you may not have the nesisary premisions etc.." it calles itself run as. i click it to run as me and then nothing happens. im stuck with ie8 at the moment

Right click the file and run as Admin.

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 03:45 PM
This suggests that version of SUSE is old and no longer supported.

'The following distributions have reached their end of life and should not be used anymore:

* openSUSE 10.3 - October 31st 2009 (done)
* openSUSE 10.2 - November 30th 2008 (done)
* SUSE Linux 10.1 - May 31st 2008 (done)
* SUSE Linux 10.0 - November 30st 2007 (done)
* SUSE Linux 9.3 - April 30th 2007 (done)
* SUSE Linux 9.2 - October 31st 2006 (done)
* SUSE Linux 9.1 - June 30th 2006 (done) '

from here
http://en.opensuse.org/SUSE_Linux_Lifetime

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 03:46 PM
yup. um im trying to install stuff, and it is saying i dont have admineristive privilages. when im an administrator. i fixed this in vista somehow but i've forgot. otherwize i cant install firefox and other stuff. ie8 kills and is terrible

Speedy Gonzales
14-05-2010, 03:47 PM
Kill UAC. Did you do a clean install or install over Vista?

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 03:51 PM
clean install and i've turned of uac. . their was i place on vista where i ticked some boxes which one of them said "full control" and it gave me full control

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 04:45 PM
still doesnt pick up guys, i need my secondary drive

Sweep
14-05-2010, 04:47 PM
Sigh. So the secondary shows in the BIOS but not in Windows?

Is it formatted?

Does it show in Computer Management > Disk Management?

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 04:47 PM
Does it appear in Disk management?

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 04:49 PM
it is the same as it was when i had it as my secondary in vista

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 04:50 PM
it shows in disk management but does not have a letter assigned to it. my main drive has C assinged to it. my dvd drives have letters too

Sweep
14-05-2010, 04:51 PM
it is the same as it was when i had it as my secondary in vista

BUT DOES IT SHOW IN DISK MANAGEMENT??????????????????????

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 04:51 PM
wow i just fixed it!

yes it did. i had to assign a letter

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 04:55 PM
Great that you just fixed it!:rolleyes:

:lol::lol:

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:01 PM
i've learnt a s.h.i.t load today. and windows 7 is so much better. it says its not genuine tho. the disk is a genuine one and i borroed it off a mate. i had to use a serial off the net tho as it wasent on the back. its on their pc box. i've found a crack to fix this but i need the full admin rights to modify files etc..

Sweep
14-05-2010, 05:04 PM
Well if you think I'm going to help with that then think again!

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 05:07 PM
Your idea of genuine and Microsoft's are different.
Please read the forum rules about piracy, and do not be
surprised if a moderator has issues with this!!!

Sheesh!

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:07 PM
what do you mean?

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:09 PM
ok. no need to get angry. i was gonna thank you for your all you help and how awesome you were. great guys. my soul has sunk with your comments. not cool.

KarameaDave
14-05-2010, 05:10 PM
It is also not cool if you are pirating Windows!
http://www.microsoft.com/nz/piracy/default.mspx

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:13 PM
im not. its a genuine disk!!!!!!! bloddy hell! c'mon i've got genuine win 95, 98, xp. wots your problem! borrowing is a good thing, especially if you cant afford it

Jen
14-05-2010, 05:19 PM
i had to use a serial off the net tho as it wasent on the back. its on their pc box. i've found a crack to fix this but i need the full admin rights to modify files etc..

im not. its a genuine disk!!!!!!! bloddy hell! c'mon i've got genuine win 95, 98, xp. wots your problem! borrowing is a good thing, especially if you cant afford itSigh. You may have borrowed the disk, but to be legal you must have your own key that you paid for - not one downloaded off the net or some crack you have found. That is stealing, not borrowing.

It is like saying I have already paid for one pair of Nike shoes, so I can steal any new Nike shoes I get, and that is OK because I can't afford to pay for them anyway.

As pointed out, asking for help with pirated software is against the forum rules. Consider yourself warned (although I am pretty sure you know this already ...)

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:23 PM
?? i can see where your coming from but the operating system and disk is leagally genuine. does bill gates need more money?? he has more money than any of us! we are the ones who need money

Speedy Gonzales
14-05-2010, 05:25 PM
Thats not the point as Jen / and I said its not your key, you didnt pay for it

goodiesguy
14-05-2010, 05:25 PM
and i have not used a crack yet (i will probably not as i want to get a genuine key)

Jen
14-05-2010, 05:25 PM
?? i can see where your coming from but the operating system and disk is leagally genuine. does bill gates need more money?? he has more money than any of us! we are the ones who need moneyYou obviously have no idea. You are breaking the forum rules by asking for help with pirated software, and I don't care what your philosophical outlook on MS commercial practices are.

Jen
14-05-2010, 05:41 PM
I've just spent some time reviewing the goodiesguy's posts and the posts under other previous usernames. He has already been banned once for recommending pirated software and the rules were clearly pointed out to him at the time (and several other times).

Goodiesguy has been banned for 48 hours as he cannot claim lack of knowledge of the forum rules.