PDA

View Full Version : gps live traffic updates



lance4k
09-05-2010, 06:33 PM
I was looking at the Navman GPS:

http://www.dse.co.nz/dse.shop/4be644840051c1ce273fc0a87f3b06eb/Product/View/D4445

It says it has "Live Traffic Updates". How are these traffic updates delivered to the GPS in real-time? Does it use 3G in which case do you need a sim card?

Hey by the way, am i allowed to touch my GPS while i'm driving? I can't find it in the Land Transport Amendment Act 2009:

http://www.legislation.govt.nz/act/public/2009/0017/latest/DLM2014902.html

Speedy Gonzales
09-05-2010, 06:46 PM
Satellite I suppose, thats why its called a GPS. If it used 3G, then you probably wouldnt see anything without a SIM card. If it needed one. Go into DSE and ask

Nomad
09-05-2010, 07:24 PM
If I recall, you purchase them via Navman I think and it works via AA or something like that .. Live updates is a subscription I believe.

PinoyKiw
09-05-2010, 07:27 PM
http://www.legislation.govt.nz/act/public/2009/0017/latest/DLM2014902.html[/url]

I beleive that you may use a GPS device such as a TomTom or Navman providing you use it with discretion, in other words, if you are observed spending a lot of time at 100k on the motorway programming in your next address, you are likely to get pinged but just cancelling a prompt should be ok. If you needed to spend any amount of time touching the windscreen mounted GPS unit, you would have to pull over and stop.

You are not allowed to use phone based GPS maps as far as I am aware, same as cellphone's.

wmoore
09-05-2010, 09:55 PM
I was looking at the Navman GPS:

http://www.dse.co.nz/dse.shop/4be644840051c1ce273fc0a87f3b06eb/Product/View/D4445

It says it has "Live Traffic Updates". How are these traffic updates delivered to the GPS in real-time? Does it use 3G in which case do you need a sim card?

Hey by the way, am i allowed to touch my GPS while i'm driving? I can't find it in the Land Transport Amendment Act 2009:

http://www.legislation.govt.nz/act/public/2009/0017/latest/DLM2014902.html

Yes your Navman will have a built in Sim card, so your traffic updates come via 3G or GPRS.
You shouldn't need to touch your Navman while driving anyway.

lance4k
10-05-2010, 04:13 PM
Yes your Navman will have a built in Sim card, so your traffic updates come via 3G or GPRS.
You shouldn't need to touch your Navman while driving anyway.

might need to touch GPS to change destination when driving.

Nomad
10-05-2010, 04:20 PM
might need to touch GPS to change destination when driving.

I usually set my destination on the side of the road. I don't need to touch it at all. If you drive for long enough it would automatically recalculate the path for you, heading to the same destination.

I probably wouldn't want to change direction while I am driving. At most I access the saved addresses that is about it. I would not spell out by keying in a specific address and then click a few confirmations ..

linw
10-05-2010, 09:32 PM
Live traffic updates come via the car radio.

wmoore
12-05-2010, 12:47 AM
Live traffic updates come via the car radio.

They Can, but not in this case.

linw
12-05-2010, 10:52 AM
Ah, thanks for the correction.