PDA

View Full Version : windows 7 microphone

bevanmical
09-05-2010, 04:32 PM
Just bought a new computer with windows 7 pre installed.
when using the microphone to record there is a 1 sec delay, i'm a musician and this makes it impossible to record.
is there a fix for this or do we have to wait for a update from microsoft.

Speedy Gonzales
09-05-2010, 04:48 PM
Looks like a common prob with Win7 (http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w7music/thread/6b20d795-03fc-4632-a6eb-f0cdc78a702d). Could be why my recordings (from a tv tuner) are out of sync, but theyre fine in vista

BBCmicro
10-05-2010, 11:13 PM
Speedy, thanks for that link to MS forum regarding sound delay in Win7.

I am thinking about upgrading to Win7 in part because I am tired of fighting REaltek audio problems with my P35c motherboard.

My P35c problem seems to be a communication breakdown between Realtek and Microsoft. Under some circumstances Realtek doesn't expose a facility (eg LineIn) unless the OS requests it, but the OS doesn't request it unless it's pre-exposed by Realtek! At least that's what someone said

I was thinking that a new generation of motherboards and a new OS would fix things, but now I'm not so sure. Perhaps I should avoid Realtek...

Speedy Gonzales
10-05-2010, 11:25 PM
Speedy, thanks for that link to MS forum regarding sound delay in Win7.

No probs

I am thinking about upgrading to Win7 in part because I am tired of fighting REaltek audio problems with my P35c motherboard.

So, what version of windows do you use now? And, are you using Windows audio drivers or the ASUS ones?

Have to say the ASUS audio drivers for this mobo (P5Q SE/R) are actually worse than Vista's or Win 7's lol. Altho OTOH, it maybe these useless headphones. Turn it right up, it sounds like its 1/2 way. I can hardly hear anything.

I was thinking that a new generation of motherboards and a new OS would fix things, but now I'm not so sure. Perhaps I should avoid Realtek...