PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Wireless Not Found



pctek
02-05-2010, 01:39 PM
Son has a netgear wireless modem. Modem is fine, wireless appears to not exist, with my PC and his old laptop.


Can't see why - the netgear choices for wireless is Channel - on auto, G and b, on both.......WEP, WPS etc...various of them, tried all plus tried no security at all.

None of the PCs can see any wireless at all.

Beats me why.........

wainuitech
02-05-2010, 01:48 PM
Tried rechecking the "Hide SSID" is not activated -- what ever it is, tick / untick it, -- May need a"kick in the pants" to start/stop it ???

Just a thought-- is the Wireless card/adapter using its own wireless software or the Windows Zero Configuration - right click Wireless adapter under LAN settings/ properties, should be the wireless options tab.

ughnz
02-05-2010, 01:51 PM
Another thing to try is to fix it on a channel. I have seen auto channel selection play up way to many times.

pctek
02-05-2010, 02:02 PM
It says Wireless connection enabled. But if I go to Networks, view Available wireless connections it says there are none. No internet unless I use the cable.
The SID name thing is enabled.

Renmoo
02-05-2010, 02:47 PM
The SID name thing is enabled.

Is the SSID hidden or not?

nedkelly
02-05-2010, 02:55 PM
So the wireless router radio is enabled?

Edit: Just a basic thought you do have the wireless switch turned on on the laptop right?

Renmoo
02-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Which LED light status are currently lit at the moment, pctek?

Agent_24
02-05-2010, 05:13 PM
Reset the router to defaults

pctek
02-05-2010, 05:34 PM
SSID not hidden.

No switch on laptop - it's fairly old, it's just on, we know the laptop does work with wireless.

The other PC that won't see it is mine. It would see my wireless at home, I didn't bring my modem though......


LEDS lit - LAN 1 and 2, ADSL, Power, Wireless.

Have reset the router 3 times and re-entered it all.

Greven
02-05-2010, 05:40 PM
possibly damaged aerial?

lakewoodlady
02-05-2010, 07:26 PM
Tried reseating your wireless card? maybe your PC didn't like the car ride.
Probably dumb suggestion, but hey!
LL

pctek
03-05-2010, 09:19 AM
Nah the wireless card was packed separate. I installed it again once I got here. Besides the laptop can't see it either. I'm beginning to be suspicious about the modem itself...

george12
04-05-2010, 02:18 AM
If the router's been reset, WiFi enabled and SSID visible as you said, and no laptop can see it, there's no question about it - the router is faulty.

Agent_24
05-05-2010, 03:19 AM
Does sound like the router is stuffed doesn't it? Or maybe just a really weird conicidence...

pctek
05-05-2010, 08:36 AM
Probably. Using a cable until his mate the Networking guru turns up to have a look.......Assuming he can pry them off their online game long enough to have a look......

pctek
08-05-2010, 09:16 AM
Well who knows what the laptops problem is, but the problem with my PC is the Atheros NIC.

Apparently, like dialup modems and printers, there are only a certain few that work properly with Win7 64bit.

Sons mate made it go on his phone, and booted Linux and it worked. So........new Wifi NIC............

Agent_24
08-05-2010, 09:18 AM
So the access point is fine? typical... :rolleyes: