PDA

View Full Version : Logitech C200 Install Issues



johcar
01-05-2010, 09:20 PM
At the in-laws, trying to get them set up on Skype with a webcam we bought today (per thread title).

System is Vista Home Premium.

Every time I plug in the webcam, I get a message:

"USB Device unrecognized. One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned and Windows does not recognise it."

Doesn't matter which USB port I plug it into.

I have removed the Logitech software, rebooted, reinstalled and started tearing hair out. All to no avail.

Does anyone have any ideas how to get this going?

feersumendjinn
01-05-2010, 09:27 PM
Silly question but did you install the software before the hardware? (so the OS knows what its looking at), and is it a Vista compatible driver? (appears to be W7 and 32/64 bit drivers supplied as well).
Perhaps this'll help also
http://logitech-en-ap.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/logitech_en_ap.cfg/php/enduser/std_alp.php?section=troubleshoot&crid=435&lt_product_id=5865&tabs=1,3,2,5&cl=au,en&p_search_text=Logitech%20%20Webcam%20C200&WT.ac=sc|support_downloads||dd

Renmoo
01-05-2010, 09:35 PM
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/notebook_products/webcams/devices/5865

Yeah it is supported on Windows Vista, feer.

John: Is the drivers provided the most up-to-date?

johcar
01-05-2010, 09:36 PM
Yes and yes. I read the instructions first for once (had a feminine moment! :D)

johcar
01-05-2010, 09:41 PM
Jamuz - I have tried dowloading the driver from the Logitech site, but it one without a suffix, so I wouldn't have a clue what to do with it. It's called "lws110".

johcar
01-05-2010, 09:42 PM
Problem is, when I run the install from the DVD/CD I am supposed to plug the device in when prompted. When I do, I get the "unrecognised" error.

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2010, 09:47 PM
Youre not the only one (http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Webcams/USB-device-not-recognized-Vista/m-p/439226). Have you tried plugging it into another computer, to see if it'll work?

johcar
01-05-2010, 09:49 PM
Interestingly, I have just successfuly installed it in my own laptop, running Win7 Ultimate...

I will also have a read of the LT Forum...

feersumendjinn
01-05-2010, 09:52 PM
Does a flash drive or other usb device work normally (in the outlaws comp;))?
Perhaps the cam is defective.
Perhaps the current draw by the cam is more than the motherboard can supply (has the computer a lot of USB devices plugged in?).


Yeah it is supported on Windows Vista, feer.
Yup, I know that, just thought johcar may have selected the wrong driver :D.

johcar
01-05-2010, 09:55 PM
The camera may indeed be defective - for Vista - it works OK on Win7...

Phil B
01-05-2010, 10:01 PM
I had a similar issue with my xp comp. Eventually I found it was a usb flash drive that I leave connected all the time. The drive still worked, but must have been dieing, as as soon as it was pulled the system worked

johcar
01-05-2010, 10:01 PM
Ports are OK with flash drives....

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2010, 10:04 PM
Are the chipset drivers and service packs installed? Delete everything under usb controllers then reboot then try

johcar
01-05-2010, 10:10 PM
Just finished getting all the service packs up to date (they were on dial-up, so updates went by the wayside! Now got them on BB!)

Rebooting now, please hold, caller...

johcar
01-05-2010, 10:20 PM
Once again Speedy you have made me look like a newbie here, but an IT God at home!!

Deleted all the USB Root Hubs, rebooted, let them all reinstall and then fired up the Logitech DVD. Detected and installed almost immediately!

Thanks mate!

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2010, 10:23 PM
Sweet as !

Sweep
01-05-2010, 11:19 PM
The camera may indeed be defective - for Vista - it works OK on Win7...

If the camera works on Win 7 how can it be defective? A driver issue I think.

Sweep
01-05-2010, 11:22 PM
Sorry. I did not read far enough through this thread. It was a driver problem though and I'm pleased it's solved.

johcar
01-05-2010, 11:48 PM
:D