PDA

View Full Version : Old game, new(ish) computer.



Billy T
01-05-2010, 06:19 PM
I've been cleaning out old software now that I'm only several years behind current state of the art, and came across a CD for Prince of Persia 2 that I didn't even know existed in our home as we allowed no computer games while our kids were at school. Yeah, I know, poor deprived kids, mean parents, how did they survive and all that, but they are now both straight A students at Uni so it was worth the sacrifice.

Anyway, I tossed it to my son and he installed it on his laptop which runs XP-Pro. The installation ran fine, and he can get to the opening screen, but the program won't run. I just had to download some dll's to get some of my ancient instrument programs to run on XP, so I'm guessing that something similar may be needed to kick PP2 into life.

I did a search but all I could find was abandonware downloads so does anybody know if PP2 can be induced to run on XP?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Jen
01-05-2010, 06:39 PM
Have you tried running it under XP using compatibility mode? See here: Run Older Programs on Windows XP (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/appcompat.mspx)

Billy T
01-05-2010, 08:57 PM
No, son already knows everything, including the meaning of life and the winning lotto numbers, so compatibility mode hasn't been tried. I'll try auto-suggestion while he's asleep tonight and see what happens in the morning. :D

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Sweep
01-05-2010, 09:15 PM
Billy T.

When I was 15 I knew everything. Six years later I was amazed at how much my Parents had learned.

lakewoodlady
01-05-2010, 09:19 PM
Billy T.

When I was 15 I knew everything. Six years later I was amazed at how much my Parents had learned.

How true! :lol:

LL

bob_doe_nz
01-05-2010, 09:36 PM
If that game is from the Dos era (http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=198&letter=P), may i suggest DOSBox (http://www.dosbox.com) with a frontend. (http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/)

Chilling_Silence
01-05-2010, 11:42 PM
Beaten to the chase, was just about to suggest DOSBox :D

http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=198&letter=P

Billy T
02-05-2010, 11:43 PM
If that game is from the Dos era (http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=198&letter=P), may i suggest DOSBox (http://www.dosbox.com) with a frontend. (http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/)

It is from the W98 era.

We haven't tried compatibility mode yet, for some strange reason he has been more interested in doing his Uni assignments than playing PP. :confused:

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

pctek
03-05-2010, 07:37 AM
DOSBOX is handy for older WIn98 stuff too - some of those games did use DOS.

inphinity
03-05-2010, 09:40 AM
It is from the W98 era.

We haven't tried compatibility mode yet, for some strange reason he has been more interested in doing his Uni assignments than playing PP. :confused:

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

If it's the original PoP2, it predates Win98 by 3 or 4 years and you'll need DOSbox to run it ;)

bob_doe_nz
03-05-2010, 12:29 PM
I'd also be willing to help create a walkthrough if you need help installing.

Agent_24
03-05-2010, 08:09 PM
If it's called "Prince of Persia 2: The Shadow and the Flame" it is indeed the second DOS game.

Most problems usually are related to the soundcard setup

There is a configuration program that should be in the same directory as the game executable which allows you to change the settings