PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Fog lamp on car

Morgenmuffel
23-04-2010, 05:24 PM
Ok my Car failed its warrant as one of the fog lights points up instead of down, ironically its been like that ever since i brought the car 7 or so years ago, but anyway, how do i fix it, the car is a 96 0r97 holden astra hatch like this one
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Trade-Me-Motors/Cars/Holden/auction-280251709.htm

Anyway heres a close up of the area and how it is supposed to look (the right hand side is flipped)
Attached file: Car_question.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Car_question.jpg) (31 KB)

Can i just take the ?skirt? bit under the bumper off and straighten it, or is there an easier way?

Baby steps are good as i am not a mechanic but i am skint

KarameaDave
23-04-2010, 05:34 PM
It looks to me like an incorrect sealed beam unit.
(as in a RH side one in the Left)
If you are skint remove them both.
The cut outs in the skirt don't even look the same shape to me.
(but that could be Friday night Wonky-eye;))

Morgenmuffel
23-04-2010, 06:05 PM
The are the same shape, i think, its just that one has been pushed in behind the hole at the top and it sort of skewed on an angle, and the bottom is sticking out further than it should (and i'm a crap photographer), as to removing them, well they both work fine and to do that i still have to remove the skirt thing to get at them don't I, so it should hopefully be just as easy to straighten it up again

KarameaDave
23-04-2010, 06:11 PM
Have a look and see if it is adjustable.
Long screws or the like alongside the lamp.
Or try to see if the mount is somehow warped.
(they both have different shaped lenses with different ridges
which is why I assumed they are different)

gary67
23-04-2010, 07:15 PM
Looks like its upside down? Are you sure it s the right light for the car?

Phil B
23-04-2010, 07:59 PM