PDA

View Full Version : Dual Boot of XP and Windows 7



FaultiestScaran
01-04-2010, 03:48 PM
Hey all -

After trying and to much frustration, I managed to get both Windows 7 and XP installed on my computer. I have put Windows 7 on one of my hard drives and XP on another.

Here is the problem :-

Here some screenshots so you can see what I'm seeing:
http://img218.yfrog.com/img218/3383/disks.jpg
http://img237.yfrog.com/img237/4328/bootd.jpg
http://img179.yfrog.com/i/boot2.jpg/

If I have both hard drives plugged in, the computer will boot to Windows 7, if I unplug the first hard drive, the computer will boot to XP (which makes sense). I downloaded Easy BCD and tried adding XP to the Windows 7 Boot Manager but that doesn't seem to have worked. When I boot the computer now, it does say would you like to boot Windows 7 or Windows XP (It's says Windows XP instead of the standard "Earlier Version of Windows" because I renamed the boot in Easy BCD) but if I select Windows XP the computer just freezes and doesn't do anything.

Can anyone see where / how I have gone wrong????

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:01 PM
you missed windows directory in the xp entry

FaultiestScaran
01-04-2010, 04:02 PM
I noticed that too but Windows 7 doesn't use a boot.ini file anymore and I for the life of me can't see how to ass the entry with Easy BCD ....

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:09 PM
so how did you first add the xp entry?

FaultiestScaran
01-04-2010, 04:13 PM
With Easy BCD, it only lets me select what type of load it is (windows 7/vista, windows xp,2k,98 or linux) and the drive it's located, nothing else

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:26 PM
I meant what way did you add xp to the boot manager

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:31 PM
compare this to yours.
http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s85/jynxxxed/Boot/easybcd.png

Looks like there is a third entry needed.

FaultiestScaran
01-04-2010, 04:42 PM
There is an extra entry in there ....

I tried using the CMD and following a website just now but the same thing. Then saw anythere site (severforums) that said boot into Windows XP and run Easy BCD inside XP, get it to rebuild the boot.ini and then add the Windows 7 bootmgr but still the same problem

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:44 PM
ok well sorry. I dont have a dual boot to experiment with, might have to wait until someone who has one comes on.

Driftwood
01-04-2010, 04:59 PM
http://lifehacker.com/5126781/how-to-dual-boot-windows-7-with-xp-or-vista

FaultiestScaran
01-04-2010, 07:16 PM
I have seen that from the countless Google searches I have done and it isn't that simple.

feersumendjinn
01-04-2010, 07:44 PM
Maybe this could be helpful
http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_windows_xp_and_windows_7_xp_insta lled_first.htm?page=5
(Previous pages of this article have links at bottom of page).

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 07:48 PM
I forgot about APC, even got a bookmark for it

xmojo1
02-04-2010, 12:10 AM
There is an extra entry in there ....

I tried using the CMD and following a website just now but the same thing. Then saw anythere site (severforums) that said boot into Windows XP and run Easy BCD inside XP, get it to rebuild the boot.ini and then add the Windows 7 bootmgr but still the same problem

My EasyBCD setup is exactly like yours, except for the order of the OSes:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f101/xmojo/easy_bcd_setup.jpg

Maybe try re-arranging the order of the OSes in your setup; don't know if that'll help.

mzee
04-04-2010, 10:39 PM
If one HD is SATA & the other PATA (ide) the PATA will always be Master regardless of your Bios settings.

Try copying the start files ( boot.ini & NTLDR) on your XP partition to your W7 partition, then edit the boot.ini to direct the start menu to the correct drive/partition. This worked for me.

wainuitech
04-04-2010, 11:12 PM
If one HD is SATA & the other PATA (ide) the PATA will always be Master regardless of your Bios settings. Wrong.

If you go into the BIOS and tell it what drive to boot first, either the sata or IDE, it will boot the drive you tell it to.

I do that all the time, at least daily during the week.
One of my workshop PC's had sata Drives, the others have IDE and customers drives can be sata or IDE, I want it to boot from my drive so I can clean them.

Edited: re the dual booting, I had this problem a while ago - I had to have EBCD set up on both XP and W7 - then once they both booted as you wanted, you could uninstall it from XP, it HAD to stay in W7 -- Have a look at This thread (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=108131) #5

mzee
14-04-2010, 04:10 PM
On my desktop if I put an Ide in it, it will always override the sata, regardless of the Bios boot settings. Makes no difference if I make it slave or cable select.

I have a removable tray so I can work on other drives. It always tries to boot on the ide drive in the tray.

Speedy Gonzales
14-04-2010, 04:35 PM
There's something wrong then. Unless the SATA has nothing on it, then the IDE will boot, if its got the OS on it. And it wont be master unless its jumpered as master. And SATA's are always master, since SATA's cant be jumpered, and cant be jumpered as slave

What else is on the same IDE connection as the IDE?

wainuitech
14-04-2010, 04:38 PM
You may be doing something wrong then, I have 3 workshop PC's some with removable drives as well.
If I attach either a IDE or SATA drive to them, just enter the BIOS, select the HDD to boot first and it always does.

Just done it 4 times in the last hour with a combo of IDE / SATA drives.

Every PC I have ever worked on is the same - if required.