PDA

View Full Version : Got my 5870 today



Deimos
31-03-2010, 11:23 AM
And it's too big for my case :crying

Damn water pump is in the way, looks like I will have to run some stuff outside my case intil I can afford to get something bigger...

The deadline is friday, oh man this is going to be fun...

Oh well, looks like this would be a good opportunity to add that second radiator.

wratterus
31-03-2010, 11:25 AM
That was some srsly good planning! :p

What case are you using?

Battleneter2
31-03-2010, 11:32 AM
Congrats and :( yea they are long cards.

Is un-riveting a unused drive bay a option or relevant? you should post a pic :P

narutophantom
31-03-2010, 11:45 AM
Haha, bummer. Hope you find a solution soon!

Ollie
31-03-2010, 02:30 PM
Good choice bro. Vid cards are getting longer PCb cause they secretly working with PC case compan ies :ps

Gobe1
31-03-2010, 03:18 PM
Sounds like a LAN party is looming??? "Deadline is Firday"

Deimos
31-03-2010, 10:17 PM
Case is an old dark rider that I modded to put in water cooling, it is a seriously small case, unfortunately the water pump is in the way, the vid card would just slide in behind it but the damn power connectors have moved from facing the front of the case to facing the side (which is where the pump is).

I've decided to build a wooden box to hold an extra RAD, my water pump and my res, it can just sit under my desk until I can afford to get a new case, my wife has suggested I just buy the damn case but they have stopped production of the case I want and the price has shot up over $700 ***.

I spend the afternoon building the box, had to make a template for the rad in visio, tomorrow I'm cutting the wood and hopefully I'll have time to at least try to start piecing it together, its probably going to take 2 days since I have to drain my existing loop first, ironically I find this stuff more fun than playing games...

Deimos
31-03-2010, 10:18 PM
Oh yeah, and the deadline is friday because I sold my existing vid card, so have to get it out and get the waterblock off...

Deimos
31-03-2010, 10:19 PM
I'll post pics of my work log if any of you guys are interested.

GameJunkie
31-03-2010, 10:20 PM
yeah post some pics

nedkelly
31-03-2010, 10:42 PM
wow good old kiwi ingenuity, just like my grandfather he needed a bench saw and a disk sander so he went and got two old waste master motors and built them himself, been going for around 13 or so years.

Deimos
31-03-2010, 11:10 PM
OK here are some pics of my current setup.

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_8266.jpg

Currently with a 4870...

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_8263.jpg

As you can see, the vid card slips in behind the water pump, normally this wouldn't be a problem but see where the tubing comes out from the water pump, well on the 5870 that tube blocks the power connections (YAY).

Some pics of my previous build, I lapped my CPU, CPU water block and graphics card water block, the results were pretty good actually (about 10-15C drop after lapping and switch to 1/2" ID tubing):

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_8258.jpg

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_8256.jpg

I'll post pics of the new box tomorrow.

wratterus
31-03-2010, 11:12 PM
Nice, very tidy.

Battleneter2
01-04-2010, 11:54 AM
very nice Deimos, I can see the slight problem now :P

Deimos
01-04-2010, 12:26 PM
OK, so I have banged up my wooden box, it turned out alright actually, my rad fits in there nice, and now my wife has just okayed the purchase of a new case (damn) I'll be picking it up this afternoon, however I won't be able to build it until the end of April so I'm gonna carry on with this box, I'll post pics this afternoon.

Deimos
01-04-2010, 12:26 PM
I can't wait to start my new job, then I won't have to beg my wife for upgrades LOL!

DeSade
01-04-2010, 03:10 PM
I can't wait to start my new job, then I won't have to beg my wife for upgrades LOL!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I bet you still do have to beg :)

Deimos
01-04-2010, 04:36 PM
OK, heres some pics, this is the box after cutting the wood:

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_1514.jpg

and after screwing it together and mounting the rad (only one side is screwed on):

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_1515.jpg

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff345/Zeustek/IMG_1516.jpg

Now I'm on the way to collect my new case! I got a Silverstone Temjin TJ07, should be able to fit 3 rads in it easy...

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 04:51 PM
strange having the psu standing on its side just so you can get two in, but who would use two power supplies?

Deimos
01-04-2010, 05:13 PM
strange having the psu standing on its side just so you can get two in, but who would use two power supplies?

I used to have 2, but ended up going for a 1200W in the end.

You don't have to have 2, I'm planning to use the extra space to put a 3 x 120mm fan rad in there, it may even fit a 4 way in there, plus the 2 rads I already have, hard drives can go somewhere else.

nedkelly
01-04-2010, 05:31 PM
how did you use two power supplies?

Deimos
01-04-2010, 08:11 PM
I just wired them together with the start wire (green) and one earth, they power up and switch off together.

Deimos
01-04-2010, 11:30 PM
OK, I'm priming the loop right now, quick lesson about watercooling, don't ever listen to a sales person about whats OK about water cooling, one guy I spoke to said that you don't need clamps on your hoses, well I just found out that you absolutely do need clamps! (it leaked outside the case so all is well).
Also, regular plastic zip ties are THE BEST hose clamps because they are easy to put on real tight, and you can just snip them off with a pair of wire cutters.

wratterus
01-04-2010, 11:57 PM
OK, I'm priming the loop right now, quick lesson about watercooling, don't ever listen to a sales person about whats OK about water cooling, one guy I spoke to said that you don't need clamps on your hoses, well I just found out that you absolutely do need clamps! (it leaked outside the case so all is well).
Also, regular plastic zip ties are THE BEST hose clamps because they are easy to put on real tight, and you can just snip them off with a pair of wire cutters.

So true.

Thebananamonkey
02-04-2010, 01:18 AM
Less exciting: I got a 5770 a week ago and have been loving it. Non-hanging gaming is hard to beat.

Only problem is the card is noisy as a mother... I bought a VF1000 for my old card, hoping to salvage it (to no avail).

Should I void my warranty and put the VF1000 on? Mostly I'm after noise reduction but lowered temps would be good too.

Deimos
04-04-2010, 01:53 AM
I've got a couple more pics, I'll post them tomorrow, too busy playing games!

Temps are absolutely nuts, I've been doing a lot of reading of peoples temps, most people on air are reporting up to 90c at stock clocks! I've gone from 1.069v stock to 1.3V and 1Ghz core and running furmark sent it up to 45c! and the CPU I've never seen above 55c!

I played Arkham Asylum today for about 3-4 hours, awesome game...

qazwsxokmijn
04-04-2010, 11:02 AM
I just found out that you absolutely do need clamps! (it leaked outside the case so all is well).
It depends on your fitting type. If you have the Fat Boy type no clamp is required.