PDA

View Full Version : I Have a Problem with Error 1720 Compaq



ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 01:05 AM
I Have a Problem with Error 1720 Compaq , I Turn on the PC escape F1 and writes ( 1720 - Smart Hard Drive Detects Imminent Failure , Your Hard Disk Drive is Detecting an imminant failure.To Ensure No Data Loss backup and replace this harddisk . Attribute Failed #05 ) .When I Started Windows , when I Stuff in the Internet I Turn on the Camera after That PC Restart . What Should I Do ??

Speedy Gonzales
28-03-2010, 01:11 AM
Here's another post about it (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/archive/index.php/t-50241.html). You may have to update the firmware (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=0&prodSeriesId=96269&prodNameId=96972&swItem=PSG_I7129-9413&swEnvOid=23&swLang=8&taskId=135&mode=3). Also, make sure the hdd is a Maxtor. If your system isnt listed, then you may have to replace the hdd

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 01:19 AM
Here's another post about it (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/archive/index.php/t-50241.html). You may have to update the firmware (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=0&prodSeriesId=96269&prodNameId=96972&swItem=PSG_I7129-9413&swEnvOid=23&swLang=8&taskId=135&mode=3). Also, make sure the hdd is a Maxtor. If your system isnt listed, then you may have to replace the hdd

I Saw The Link but will exist Another possibility ...

Speedy Gonzales
28-03-2010, 01:22 AM
Well it either needs a firmware update like the link I posted. Or you'll have to install another hard drive before it dies

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 01:31 AM
OK now I'll try this option you gave me .. Thanks ... I will announce for each change...

Speedy Gonzales
28-03-2010, 01:32 AM
Cool, remember to check and MAKE SURE the hdd is a Maxtor, before you try it. What version of windows is installed?

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 01:53 AM
Cool, remember to check and MAKE SURE the hdd is a Maxtor, before you try it. What version of windows is installed?

Windows Xp Service Pack 2


I made the way he said, the floppy disk copy items, what should I do now

Speedy Gonzales
28-03-2010, 02:05 AM
Boot from the floppy. Change the bootdisk to the floppy in the BIOs first. If thats what that file did. Then wait for it to finish

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 02:21 AM
Boot from the floppy. Change the bootdisk to the floppy in the BIOs first. If thats what that file did. Then wait for it to finish

At the end is coming No Maxtor Drives Update, what with doing ? or Change HDD ??

forgive me if I get maybe nerves

Speedy Gonzales
28-03-2010, 02:27 AM
If its not a maxtor hdd, the only other thing you can do.

Remove it put it in a desktop, (jumper it properly if its an IDE hard drive), and copy (documents / txt files / dont worry about programs, you'll have to reinstall them),what you want off it. Then buy another hard drive

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 02:52 AM
If its not a maxtor hdd, the only other thing you can do.

Remove it put it in a desktop, (jumper it properly if its an IDE hard drive), and copy (documents / txt files / dont worry about programs, you'll have to reinstall them),what you want off it. Then buy another hard drive


Thanks. forgive me for the pain will do anything and will fix this problem. Thank you very much my email is refik.-@hotmail.de.... if you want to take and if possible close or delete the topic

ReFiKKS
28-03-2010, 03:46 AM
If its not a maxtor hdd, the only other thing you can do.

Remove it put it in a desktop, (jumper it properly if its an IDE hard drive), and copy (documents / txt files / dont worry about programs, you'll have to reinstall them),what you want off it. Then buy another hard drive

I have a problem if you can help me when I click on the icon of Windows Security Center PC crashes and PC must be restarted