PDA

View Full Version : adsl2+ low bandwidth



linw
15-03-2010, 09:23 PM
Just got adsl2+ here and currently have speed of 1Mbps/0.04Mbps to Wellington, 30K away!! (Modem shows 16,638/945 Kbps). Sheeeesh. Ping is 823.

Same to LA etc and same using IE as well as FF.

Am I alone?

Trev
15-03-2010, 09:30 PM
Run a test Here. (http://www.speedtest.net/)
:)

linw
15-03-2010, 09:47 PM
That's what I am testing with.

BTW, ISP is Telecom XTRA.

rumpty
15-03-2010, 10:04 PM
Speeds to/from the US west coast are comparatively pathetic tonight here too. In Auckland, Telecom ISP. Even to the AK server it is below normal.

Netsukeninja
15-03-2010, 10:07 PM
I'm also having problems with my Telecom broadband, VERY severe packet loss. Take a look at this.

http://pastebin.com/Lb8VSUiq

Speedtest: http://www.speedtest.net/result/749115877.png

nedkelly
15-03-2010, 10:44 PM
ok which one of you is downloading heaps and slowing NZ down?

wratterus
15-03-2010, 10:47 PM
Telecom is crap here tonight too, massive packet loss especially to overseas sites.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/749143484.png

Sweep
15-03-2010, 10:54 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/749145951.png

Better result here.

linw
15-03-2010, 11:03 PM
Looks like it is improving! http://www.speedtest.net/result/749151777.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nedkelly
15-03-2010, 11:06 PM
ok this is ridiculous, did a speedtest to auckland got 657 kbps download with a ping of 138, did speedtest to Sydney 1.28mbps with ping of 638

jinja_thom
16-03-2010, 05:24 PM
Speedtest is a waste of time, I just got half my contracted speed testing to wellington 50 miles away but got my full contract speed testing to Napier 150 miles. It strikes me its a test of the efficiency of the site hosting the test more than anything relevant to your personal service band width.

nedkelly
16-03-2010, 05:40 PM
The reason it is like that is dependant on how much load the server hosting speedtest in the city you selected is under and the equipment between you and your isp and then from your isp to the server.

Netsukeninja
16-03-2010, 08:44 PM
Is it really ok for one of Telecom's routers (ae1-10.tkbr9.global-gateway.net.nz) to have a packet loss rate of 93%?

http://pastebin.com/NFC3qqP7

jinja_thom
16-03-2010, 11:13 PM
See my earlier post, I was so disappointed with the result that I contacted Citylink to query the readings, this is their reply:


"We host three speed test servers, one in Wellington, one in Auckland,
and the last in San Francisco. Those ISP's that participate in either
the APE (Auckland Peering Exchange) or the WIX (Wellington Internet
Exchange) are able to access the local servers. Those ISP's that don't
participate use the San Francisco server. Unfortunately TelstraClear and
Telecom/Xtra are the about the only two ISP's in NZ not participating in
one of the exchanges.

In short, this means your speed test to the "Wellington" was really
served from San Francisco, which accounts for the poor result.

Sorry for any confusion this may cause."

This might explain a lot of poor readings when we all know how long it takes to cross the Pacific

Battleneter2
17-03-2010, 08:13 AM
Speedtest is a waste of time, I just got half my contracted speed testing to wellington 50 miles away but got my full contract speed testing to Napier 150 miles. It strikes me its a test of the efficiency of the site hosting the test more than anything relevant to your personal service band width.

Yes Speedtest is nearly worthless as its single source and if any one of the hops are slow your result will be poor. Add to this differnt ISP's can use differnt hops and then there is traffic shaping considerations in many cases.

Translation someone with a worse Speedtest result than you could possibly have a better overall internet connection when it comes to real world usage.

Hey, but it looks pretty and people believe it!

linw
17-03-2010, 09:46 AM
Thanks for the enlightenment, jinja. I, too, was surprised at the slow response from "Wellington".

Speedtest may have its failings, but if you know you normally get, say, 5Mbps from a server and you now get 1, you know there is a failure somewhere.

prefect
17-03-2010, 09:50 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/751022313.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Glen Eden ASDL2

Chilling_Silence
20-03-2010, 11:42 AM
It's cleared up now but I remember that night, definitely some uber bad packet loss / latency internationally, even locally wasn't that great. Where usually I can game with Aussies in WC3, they'd have 50-60ms pings, that night they had 500ms+... Even most NZ'ers had worse pings than usual. Glad it's over with :p