PDA

View Full Version : network fault on startup, Win7



sjaxso
13-03-2010, 10:00 AM
Hi Guys,

I have a bit of a curly one. I recently upgraded to Win7 Ultimate (from the RC) and since, I find my network card refuses to work after booting. It's as simple as disabling and re-enabling the card to fix it, but it's annoying!

Have updated the drivers for it, but no difference.

I wondered if perhaps it's something to do with new power management code, but I'm lost really.

Win7 Ultimate
Realtek PCI GBE Family Controller (wired)

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2010, 10:10 AM
Do a clean install of the final version. According to this (http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproinstall/thread/911607a4-cd0c-4613-93d2-10ca45948e92)

As it says above:

Upgrade for RC to Final and you run the risk of bringing some of the bugs in the RC across to the Released version.

sjaxso
13-03-2010, 10:14 AM
Sorry I didn't mean 'upgraded': it was a clean install, on a new drive.

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2010, 10:15 AM
Whats the brand/model of the motherboard? Could be a bug in the BIOS

sjaxso
13-03-2010, 10:21 AM
Asus P5KPL-C/1600

It never had the problem before, with the RC.

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2010, 10:29 AM
Were the Win7 drivers better? Since it installs drivers for most NIC's??

wainuitech
13-03-2010, 10:32 AM
When you reinstalled the drivers, were they the ones from Asus's web site- the latest are :

ATHEROS L1E Driver V1.0.0.45 for Windows 32bit XP/64bit XP/32bit Vista/64bit Vista/32bit Win7/64bit Win7.

Did you actually uninstall the originals, or simply upgrade to the newer ones ?

Interesting - they are Beta Version 1.0.0.45 ( only ones available)

sjaxso
13-03-2010, 10:33 AM
No difference... I'm just perplexed at it only happening after booting. It's not much of a hassle to disable, re-enable the card, but gah, it shouldn't be necessary :D

gary67
13-03-2010, 10:35 AM
I have the p5kpl-cm and I never installed any motherboard drivers as it only came with 32bit ones Win 7 picked everything up and worked first time as soon as it had done the updates. Just a thought you don't have comodo do you? as last year it wouldn't work with the atheros NIC on these mobo's

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2010, 10:37 AM
I would uninstall the ones you installed. And see if the Win7 are better. I'm using the Win7 sound drivers. Because, with the ASUS ones the sound sounds like its only 1/2 way. Even if you turn the volume up. I think I'm using the same version WT posted. Stupid ASUS site is too full, I cant check again. But they work fine here. This is also an Atheros NIC. Edit I'm using the 1.0.0.18 drivers

sjaxso
13-03-2010, 11:38 AM
Thanks guys - I uninstalled the drivers, shutdown and restarted, and windows installed the driver - it all worked right away.

I shutdown again, booted, and the dreaded exclamation mark is back!
Grrr.

Do you guys think flashing the BIOS might be a good idea? I've never done that, kind of afraid I'll be left with a broken computer.

EDIT: Unfortunate typo on 'shutdown' :P

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2010, 12:25 PM
Sounds like its faulty. If its under warranty take it back and replace it

wainuitech
13-03-2010, 01:21 PM
I shutdown again, booted, and the dreaded exclamation mark is back This may sound silly, BUT have you actually tried the internet to see if its working. ( open a browser)

One of my Workshop PC's does that sometimes, shows the exclamation mark, yet will quite happily browse the LAN or go on the internet,then about 3-5 minutes later it decides it is actually connected after all and shows as such.

sjaxso
13-03-2010, 01:54 PM
This may sound silly, BUT have you actually tried the internet to see if its working. ( open a browser)

Yes, no internets and no local, can't even ping the router. It shows as working fine (apart from teh exclamation mark), but without anything actually working.