PDA

View Full Version : Sick of freaking slow internet



baabits
11-03-2010, 07:39 PM
So much for Broadband.. when we first got it, I was maxing out on 8mbits/sec... then it went slow to around 2mbits/sec.. back up to around 14mbits/sec.. now this is just pathetic. Can't even manage 1mbit. Maximum download speed i've achieved over the last few weeks is around 50kb/sec. And yes, I have 13GB left. Check my speedtest (http://www.speedtest.net/result/744559509.png)

:mad:

tut
11-03-2010, 08:03 PM
Im with Xtra, download speeds are often in kb/s sometimes in single digits.

When I have used my BB allocation I dont even bother trying to use the internet.

baabits
11-03-2010, 08:10 PM
Im with Xtra, download speeds are often in kb/s sometimes in single digits.

When I have used my BB allocation I dont even bother trying to use the internet.

Surely it's illegal? I'm on the fastest plan Vodafone offer with As fast as your line can go up and down. This isn't as fast as my line can go, crap, it feels like it's hardly broadband. I was just trying to download something from MS and it was moving at 13kb/sec.. and I am city central in Napier.. not understanding.

decibel
11-03-2010, 08:11 PM
You gotta start being logical - is the slow overall performance caused by slow line speed or slow ISP performance?

Do you know how far you are from your exchange/cabinet?

What sort of line speed do you get compared with your neighbours?

Sweep
11-03-2010, 08:12 PM
Your speedtest indicates IHUG.

baabits
11-03-2010, 08:14 PM
You gotta start being logical - is the slow overall performance caused by slow line speed or slow ISP performance?

Do you know how far you are from your exchange/cabinet?

What sort of line speed do you get compared with your neighbours?

I would like to think I am logical-:p Asked the neighbours, they are with TelstraClear and they speedtested at 7mbits. I don't know exactly how far away I am, but judging by next door not so far. Very tempted to switch.

baabits
11-03-2010, 08:15 PM
Your speedtest indicates IHUG.

Vodafone is ihug.

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2010, 08:15 PM
lol lucky you're not with Xnet then. The other day I tested mine on speedtest. Because Xnet asked me to, since I sent them an email saying it was crap. Checked it at 1/4 to 2, it was 4, about 7, it went to 1.21, 9 o'clock, it went to 0.13.

Twelvevolts
11-03-2010, 09:18 PM
I not sure that Speedtest.net provides accurate results.

I just tried it and got 1 Mbs download and 2 Mbs upload, which would have been a pretty awful result for my connection.

I tried the Consumer speed test http://www.consumerspeedtest.org.nz/ and I got 9.88 Mbs download and 2 Mbs upload which is about spot on for what I pay for.

So my first suspicion would be that Speedtest.net is trying to sell something to improve your slow speed but it isn't telling the true speed.

R2x1
11-03-2010, 09:46 PM
Mine is quite slow just now too, 1.8 MBS up, 0.78MBS down. It's normally a lot better than that, (XNet Fusion)

R2x1
11-03-2010, 09:56 PM
Back up to 4.7MBS, must have been a bus driving over the cable ;)

Sweep
11-03-2010, 10:03 PM
I would like to think I am logical-:p Asked the neighbours, they are with TelstraClear and they speedtested at 7mbits. I don't know exactly how far away I am, but judging by next door not so far. Very tempted to switch.

So switch. Then we can see how you feel about the new ISP.

Metla
11-03-2010, 10:14 PM
The entire system is crap.

But Xnet take it just that bit further.

Metla
11-03-2010, 10:19 PM
woot woot

Repeated the test from a Napier server, almost identical.

Just done the one mentioned by 12v and got the exact same result.

nedkelly
11-03-2010, 10:27 PM
hmm just tested mine with that consumer link 1.09mbps. Tested with xnet's one and 2.5mbps. Is this a good speed with the box being just up the road?

TideMan
11-03-2010, 10:55 PM
Speedtest: 9.17 down 2.11 up
Consumer: 9.94 down 2.04 up
Telstra Clear cable.

Metla
11-03-2010, 10:56 PM
hmm just tested mine with that consumer link 1.09mbps. Tested with xnet's one and 2.5mbps. Is this a good speed with the box being just up the road?

Its incredibly crap.:illogical

Though many times faster then what I get, Though a few years back I was right up there at 2.5.

Disgraceful.

Telecom should be lined up and shot.

And Shitnet should hand deliver an apology and a refund for crap services rendered.

Agent_24
11-03-2010, 11:07 PM
So much for Broadband.. when we first got it, I was maxing out on 8mbits/sec... then it went slow to around 2mbits/sec.. back up to around 14mbits/sec.. now this is just pathetic. Can't even manage 1mbit. Maximum download speed i've achieved over the last few weeks is around 50kb/sec. And yes, I have 13GB left. Check my speedtest (http://www.speedtest.net/result/744559509.png)

:mad:

Look in your router and find out what your ADSL Sync rate is, if that's rubbish too then you've probably got a fault somewhere.

KiwiTT_NZ
12-03-2010, 11:43 AM
Why not just go into the router config screen and see your connection speeds.

lakewoodlady
12-03-2010, 11:47 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/745454114.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Mine, Xnet Fusion 500 metres from cabinet.

LL

Metla
12-03-2010, 12:04 PM
Well, That ruined my day.



..........................HA



Just wrote an email to Xnet. The bastards.

Metla
12-03-2010, 12:08 PM
Awesome



If you have a billing inquiry we will investigate the matter and respond within the month

Take your time, no really, don't rush, anytime in the next month is fine.....

R2x1
12-03-2010, 12:11 PM
Mine's nearly back to normal, must be the lunchtime rush slowing things down, about 3.5 KM from the exchange, 900M from a cabinet that MIGHT be ours, ADSL2, XNet Fusion http://www.speedtest.net/result/745474210.png
Consumer is not wildly different

prefect
12-03-2010, 12:15 PM
consumer test 1.62 up .73 down
speedtest net 6.34 up .72 down
For ***** sake the difference in these 2 tests is mind numbing
I will throw on my asdl2 router on sunday hope its a bit faster.

nedkelly
12-03-2010, 12:28 PM
Wow just did a speedtest.net test and got this. http://www.speedtest.net/result/745483685.png
and an Xnet speedtest.
Download speed: 4510 kbps and Upload: 130kbps
And finally Consumer Speed test
Download speed: 5.51 mbps and Upload 129 kbps
So an average of around 4.6 mbps.
So why is there such a big change from my results last night? "consumer link 1.09mbps. xnet 2.5mbps."

wratterus
12-03-2010, 12:45 PM
Move to Japan, maybe (http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj85/Deranth/597210052.png)?

prefect
12-03-2010, 12:48 PM
Move to Japan, maybe (http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj85/Deranth/597210052.png)?

**** me dead!

nedkelly
12-03-2010, 01:00 PM
that is insane. NZ will never get that high.

Metla
12-03-2010, 01:19 PM
Ha,
Got a reply, In my email I pointed out I replicated the reported speeds on a NZ server and via the speedtest hosted at Xnet.

Hi ****,

Yes those speeds look fine, bear in mind that test is located in Australia
so speeds will be slower compared to NZ etc.

lakewoodlady
12-03-2010, 01:20 PM
So what has happened to WxC site? I can't find the xnet speed test thingy anywhere!

LL

Or webmail, or anything else for that matter!

Metla
12-03-2010, 01:21 PM
http://www.xnet.co.nz/speedtest/

Happy Harry
12-03-2010, 01:23 PM
Yes speed does seem to all onver the place
http://http://www.speedtest.net/result/745529482.png but mine is not bad at the moment.

HH

lakewoodlady
12-03-2010, 01:29 PM
So what has happened to WxC site? I can't find the xnet speed test thingy anywhere!

LL

Or webmail, or anything else for that matter!

Ok, just found I have to change the addy to xnet.co.nz seems they have got all their business stuff on the Wxc site now. Weird?

LL

R2x1
12-03-2010, 01:30 PM
From XNet speedtest (Using Linksys WAG-54GP2-V2 as usual)

lakewoodlady
12-03-2010, 01:32 PM
that is insane. NZ will never get that high.

Somebody said once that the internet wouldn't be popular, lol!

LL

R2x1
12-03-2010, 01:56 PM
It's just a gimmick.
Same as the full 640 K of memory; who needs it?

baabits
12-03-2010, 03:26 PM
Move to Japan, maybe (http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj85/Deranth/597210052.png)?

Suprisingly enough, I'm actually studying Japanese as a fulltime BA.

Can't wait :D

As for my speed issues, they haven't changed from last night. I've tried different modems, different cables, different filters, different jackpoints, it doesn't make a difference. My sync speed is only coming up as 1100... and yet I can barely achieve that :O

prefect
12-03-2010, 03:33 PM
Somebody said once that the internet wouldn't be popular, lol!

LL

Maybe in 10 years or so we could download a movie in a minute or so.

Cicero
12-03-2010, 03:42 PM
No worries,we will have this new thing they are on about(Morgan and co)in about 10 years.

Gobe1
12-03-2010, 03:43 PM
Somebody said once that the internet wouldn't be popular, lol!

LL

And that 56k is that fastest you will get data over a copper cable :)

lakewoodlady
12-03-2010, 07:31 PM
And the opening of the Bell Block bypass is about 40 years too late. Just as our Taupo one will be to relieve traffic congestion from the Acacia Bay area when it eventually opens!

LL

R2x1
12-03-2010, 07:40 PM
But they only just tar sealed that Acacia Bay place a short while ago - -

Chilling_Silence
12-03-2010, 08:17 PM
Depending on your Routers that you're using, if your Sync speed is only 1100, then it's just due to distance and there's little that you can do to improve that aside from waiting to be cabinetized : http://www.telecomwholesale.co.nz/maps

Post back your router makes and models that you've tried and we'll tell you if there's any point in you trying another :)

nedkelly
12-03-2010, 08:41 PM
just wondering I have a Linksys AM300 and where would I find Sync speed? I have looked on status page but I can not see it.

PPp
12-03-2010, 08:53 PM
"The entire system is crap.

But Xnet take it just that bit further" Love it Metla

Not to sure about the impossible speeds, but we used to get them a long time ago, when you didn't flush your cache after the first test.

pkm
14-03-2010, 10:27 AM
Maybe in 10 years or so we could download a movie in a minute or so.

I can get a movie in 11minutes from a sFTP site, national traffic only which makes a big difference.

No point getting them faster - just fill your 1tb in no time.

Wasnt john key talking about fibre and getting movies in seconds? I dont really need a movie in seconds, or need to stream a full HD bluray movie. I just want websites to load without the ads or javascript lagging it up!

Agent_24
14-03-2010, 11:04 AM
I can still put a DVD in my DVD player much faster than anyone can download a 6GB file

prefect
14-03-2010, 11:12 AM
Just got my ASDL2 running download speed gone from 4 to 14 mbs blardy fast on TM it just flashes up the page.

Metla
14-03-2010, 03:53 PM
I can still put a DVD in my DVD player much faster than anyone can download a 6GB file

I can drive down the Warehouse and buy it faster then most people could download it, and get it for a quarter of the cost of downloading it....

Cicero
14-03-2010, 04:19 PM
I can drive down the Warehouse and buy it faster then most people could download it, and get it for a quarter of the cost of downloading it....

We must assume at that price you are pinching them,which is not a fair comparison!

Metla
14-03-2010, 05:07 PM
We must assume at that price you are pinching them,which is not a fair comparison!

10GB a month costs me $40, That allows the downloading of 1.4 DVD's a month. I can get far more movies then that for $40 and I get the phsical media.

And downloading them is pinching them, Buying them at the warehouse is cheaper and legit.

Sweep
14-03-2010, 05:45 PM
I can still put a DVD in my DVD player much faster than anyone can download a 6GB file

I get HiDef inside and out by just wandering around.

R2x1
14-03-2010, 05:47 PM
My friend has a big dog, and a pocket knife.

Cicero
14-03-2010, 07:07 PM
10GB a month costs me $40, That allows the downloading of 1.4 DVD's a month. I can get far more movies then that for $40 and I get the phsical media.

And downloading them is pinching them, Buying them at the warehouse is cheaper and legit.

The pinching was said in jest.

A film averages 1gig,so how you get 1.4 is a worry.