PDA

View Full Version : Problem with webcam



smurf
07-03-2010, 08:08 PM
Logtech Quickcam connect

Having trouble getting a stable picture. Cam has been configured correctly as far as i know ie I see myself when the cam is opened but the problem is that I have flashing bands across the screen see attachment. How can I rectify this to produce a more stable picture. Puter is running XP home.

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 08:22 PM
Could be a videocard driver prob. Did you install any??

wainuitech
07-03-2010, 09:02 PM
Also check in the Camera settings, make sure its set to 5060 Hz refresh rate.

Could also be the Cam program, that Logitech software caused all sorts of Problems for me last week on a customers PC, you can try Yet Another Web Cam (http://www.yawcam.com/) - see if you get the same effects.

smurf
08-03-2010, 09:13 AM
Thanks for the replies Speedy and Wainuitech..... no Speedy no new installation I will try your suggestion Wainui..thanks :)

smurf
08-03-2010, 09:35 AM
Problem solved......I downloaded Yawcam Wainui Tech and the problems was still there. I checked my web cam hookup and realised I had it connected to a 4 port USB hub rather than directly to my laptop. I changed the hook up and connected directly to the laptop and all was solved. Thanks for your help. :) :)

feersumendjinn
08-03-2010, 07:09 PM
You may want to get a powered hub if you need more ports.

Speedy Gonzales
08-03-2010, 07:11 PM
A powered hub may help (for some USB devices), but not all. Not everything likes / works with a hub

smurf
08-03-2010, 08:58 PM
True Speedy the hub to which I referred was or rather is a powered hub. Thanks for the point made feersumendjinn :)