PDA

View Full Version : Memory Sticks



chuanwai
07-03-2010, 01:18 AM
Currently using a Gigabyte P35C-DS3R

I have 2X1GB Samsung DDR2 400MHz

I want an extra 1GB in ram but dunno if these are good and will fit

http://www.tiscowaikato.co.nz/catalogue/product_info.php?products_id=1600
http://www.tiscowaikato.co.nz/catalogue/product_info.php?products_id=1600
http://www.tiscowaikato.co.nz/catalogue/product_info.php?products_id=1599

I would like suggestions or other brands to try if its near $100 for 2gb (2X1gb)

Sweep
07-03-2010, 02:01 AM
Have you not got the manual?

You have 2 x 1 Gig RAM now and you want one to make 3 gigs or are you thinking about 2 x 1 Gig more which will make 4 Gigs but only 3.25 might be seen or usable with a 32 bit O/S?

Your M/B will take DDR2 or DDR3 RAM.

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 08:16 AM
But probably 1 or the other not mixed. The mobo supports 667/800/1066/1200/1333 mhz ram. (depending on the revision). Not 400 mhz ram

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 12:04 PM
Yea it's either DDR3 or DDR2 it can't be mixed, i want to get 2X1gb's to make 2 extra gb so total up will be 4 gb im using xp sp3 would it be a waste for me to get that extra 2gb and should i maybe upgrade to vista ultimate?

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 12:10 PM
If you wanted to use Vista Ult, you would need 64 bit, then you would have to make everything you've got has 64 bit drivers

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 12:13 PM
What does that 64bit really mean is it software driver upgrades or just hardware meaning i have to wipe my pc clean and reinstall all the stuff?
Im currently on
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
XFX 8600GT XXX Edition
Gigabyte P35C- DS3R
500 GB Western Digital

And i also want to know what they mean by Vista Upgrades ?

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 12:33 PM
64 bit means you'll be able to use more than 4 GB. If the CPU and mobo supports 64 bit. Drivers HAVE to be 64 bit, if you use 64 bit windows.

However, you can install 32 and 64 bit programs (However, if you install a 32 bit program that installs 32 bit drivers), then you cant use it. If youre using 32 bit windows now, and want to use 64 bit, then it'll be better if you do a clean install

Its probably NOT a good idea to try and update from 32 to 64 bit either. (I dont think you can anyway). Even if you manage to install 64 bit over 32 bit, you'll probably have probs (or crashes) after

Info on 64 bit (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64_bit)

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 12:42 PM
Oh i see, so best to stick with 32bit but then if i get 4gb ram it wont be fully using 4gb?

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 12:49 PM
Correct 32 bit will only see 3.25 - 3.5 GB of it. If your hardware (whatever is in the case and external - like printers) has 64 bit drivers, then you shouldnt have any probs with 64 bit. I'm using 64 bit here, its great. Too bad 4 GB sticks are hard to find (theyre probably too expensive anyway). I would have brought a few. Since, the mobo supports up to 16 GB

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 01:02 PM
16 Gb woah lol mine can take max 8gb so i will check all my drivers before deciding on the 64bit or 32bit system, the ram i have listed above are they reasonable quality and price? or are there better bargains out there?

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 01:15 PM
That ram should be OK. BUT, if youre going to install 64 bit, then (there's no point in getting them), get single sticks of 2 GB sticks. Then you'll have 8 GB

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 02:51 PM
oh ok i dunno what to do now all confused about if i should go 64bit or 32 bit, thanks for the great advice

Speedy Gonzales
07-03-2010, 03:07 PM
Well, the main thing ( if youre going to install 64 bit) is drivers. No 64 bit drivers for whatever you've got its not going to work

chuanwai
07-03-2010, 03:34 PM
i see i shall check up on em.