PDA

View Full Version : Windows Terminal Services do you still need 2 CPUs if you have a Quad-core ?



KiwiTT_NZ
03-03-2010, 02:06 PM
We are looking at getting a new server and and the old recommendation is 2 processors. Is that now relevant with the newer Quad-Core Xeons.

We are looking at getting a E5504

Battleneter2
03-03-2010, 02:35 PM
No you do not need two "Physical processors" the quad core is 4 cores and counts as 4 processors.

nmercer
03-03-2010, 02:44 PM
We are looking at getting a new server and and the old recommendation is 2 processors. Is that now relevant with the newer Quad-Core Xeons.

We are looking at getting a E5504

there is really no way to accurately answer how many CPU cores you need given the information provided.

It really depends on how many users connected, and what sort of applications/workloads will be used in their sessions.

You might need 1, you might need 8 cores it depends.

I would recommend you use Windows Server 2008 R2, TS is now known as Remote Desktop Session Host (RD Session Host)

If you can supply some more information you might get a more accurate answer

This is the official server sizing guidance
Remote Desktop Session Host Capacity Planning in Windows Server 2008 R2
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=ca837962-4128-4680-b1c0-ad0985939063

Cheers
Nathan

KiwiTT_NZ
03-03-2010, 04:53 PM
Probably looking at most 10-20 users and max 256 MB Ram per session.

Will have 8 GB in the server.