PDA

View Full Version : audio recorder and Windows 7



colmack
01-03-2010, 01:31 PM
Iím having difficulty getting an audio recorder that will work with Windows 7. I used to have a Windows XP system, and with it I could use a audio recorder. Iím fairly certain my old system had integrated audio, not a separate sound card, but Iím not 100% sure.
Since buying a new PC with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (and integrated audio), I canít get any audio recorder to work. While trying to resolve the issue, Iíve discovered that (apparently) most audio recorders will work with XP, but not with Vista or Windows 7! So much for improving an OS.
I thought Iíd found the answer when Hi-Q free audio recorder advertised compatibility with Windows 7 (all versions), but no Ė following their suggested steps for using the recorder with Vista or Windows 7 drew a blank Ė they imply that because my system has integrated audio, a recorder wonít work and I need to buy a sound card.
Can someone confirm this, or otherwise shed light on the situation? Obviously I donít want to spend money on a sound card I donít otherwise need if the recorder still doesnít work. Better still, does anyone know a way I can make an existing free recorder work with my existing system, the way XP used to?

wratterus
01-03-2010, 01:42 PM
You shouldn't need a separate sound card. I assume you have your sound drivers installed correctly (eg you can hear sounds out of your speakers).

Have you tried audacity?

colmack
01-03-2010, 02:04 PM
Hi yes, the sound system works perfectly in all other regards. Haven't tried Audacity though - I'll give that a go tonight. Thanks.

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 02:12 PM
Theres a "trick" to getting them working in W7 ;)

Download Freesoundrecorder (http://www.freesoundrecorder.net/index.htm) install.

Now the "trick" -- Open Control Panel - locate Sounds -- OH Hell --Follow the instruction here (http://www.freesoundrecorder.net/vistaproblem/) -- then in the center, under recording device will be your onboard sound. Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Recording.png) The trick is to make your sound card the default device.

colmack
01-03-2010, 02:21 PM
Hi Wainuitech

These are the same instructions that Free HQ Recorder gives (the recorder that says it works with Windows 7). The trouble is, 'show disabled devices' is already checked and Microphone and Line In are already shown as sound devices, but nothing else. According to the Free HQ Recorder instructions, this is the situation which demands the installation of a sound card - see my original posting. My suspicion is that Windows 7 is somehow blocking the use of recorders such as the one I want to use.

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 02:49 PM
It will be a audio driver problem, NOT W7 - I just looked on another PC, the workshop that has an older board and it Works perfectly (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Recordings.PNG) with onboard Audio

Then looked on another W7 - no hidden devices, went to the manufactures site ( Asus) , got the latest drivers and it now shows the hidden devices.

If updating the audio drivers doesn't work, then the manufactures may have not yet made compatible device drivers.You can always try the Vista drivers, as sometimes these will work. If not you may have to get a PCI Sound Card.

Whats the Motherboard you have.

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 03:56 PM
Just adding to above, What I was referring to about driver upgrades.
This is on another Workshop PC, W7 64Bit Gigabyte Board Before (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Before.PNG) & After (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/After.PNG) a driver update.

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 04:27 PM
Add to the add above:D Just upgraded my Office W7 - Before the upgrade (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Before.jpg) NOW Upgraded (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Upgrade.jpg) -- Circled Area (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/LOL.jpg) :waughh: :lol:

Question: do I now pay the $29.95 US for the Cool edit Pro that comes bundled with it. Have got a few tracks that need to be edited :banana

Edit: see what happens when you finish work early -- :D

KarameaDave
01-03-2010, 05:39 PM
What does the Cool Edit Pro come bundled with?

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 05:48 PM
Its in Free Sound Recorder ( post #4 Link) Dont know if its a cut down version ?? Screen shot (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Cool_Edit_Pro1267418863.jpg) seems to have loads of options once a track is loaded, but you cant save changes in the Demo mode.

colmack
01-03-2010, 06:47 PM
Whats the Motherboard you have.

Thanks Wainuitech. Motherboard is ASUS M2N68-AM PLUS. I tried the Asus site but couldn't locate this model to update drivers. If you can point me in the right direction here (ie what driver update to download) I'd be grateful, as I'm having no joy myself. In view of what you've said in this thread, it would seem that that is the problem.

Sweep
01-03-2010, 07:20 PM
Drivers here:-

http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/SOUND-CARD/REALTEK/Asus-M2N68-AM-PLUS-Realtek-Audio-Driver-51005859-60158-for-XP-Vista-Win7.shtml

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 07:34 PM
If you can point me in the right direction here (ie what driver update to download) Not a problem, I see what you mean, BUT theres more than one way to skin a cat as the saying goes.

OK - go Here (http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us) -- look at the top left - type in the search the model name As shown by arrow (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/One.jpg) hit Search info - You will Get this (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Two1267424900.jpg) - click it, select Your OS (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/OS.jpg) - Expand out the Audio Drivers, Select Global (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Audio.jpg) - Put in the security code it gives,Download and unzip them to a folder, hit teh setup - and install, reboot, - all going well, you should now have the option to enable the hidden device.

Good luck :thumbs:

PS: dont forget to come back and advice so others will know if it worked or if more "looking is required.

PSS: dont know whay the ones in softpedia are 2Mb smaller than the ones from the Asus site ??

Sweep
01-03-2010, 08:16 PM
PSS: dont know whay the ones in softpedia are 2Mb smaller than the ones from the Asus site ??

I don't know either. Maybe yours are WHQL certified and that's the difference.

wainuitech
01-03-2010, 08:18 PM
PSS: dont know whay the ones in softpedia are 2Mb smaller than the ones from the Asus site ??

I don't know either. Maybe yours are WHQL certified and that's the difference. No idea either. I always get drivers from the manufactures sites, unless they happen to be ones that are damn hard to get, Eg: HP drivers can be a pain sometimes. :illogical

Sweep
01-03-2010, 08:19 PM
Sounds reasonable to me.

colmack
02-03-2010, 04:45 PM
Thanks very much, especially wainuitech and sweep. I downloaded and installed the driver last night, and... total success. I'm now a happy chappy :thanks

wainuitech
02-03-2010, 04:51 PM
Cool :thumbs:


Sorry sweep cant resist this -- your new aviator -- Is that for when ideas dont work :p

Sweep
02-03-2010, 05:47 PM
Cool :thumbs:


Sorry sweep cant resist this -- your new aviator -- Is that for when ideas dont work :p

It's not for when iDeas don't work.......................

iTis my new iAvatar.

It's for when iM iConstipated..................

Comes preloaded with iPoo which means iDon't have to.

iHope this is now understood.

:thanks For iAsking.