PDA

View Full Version : Excel formula

Myth
27-02-2010, 03:17 PM
As part of my job, I am required to maintain stock levels
AS part of this I have an excel page with all our stock part numbers, and the current levels. I also have a column which has a suggested order point (taking into account lead-times of suppliers etc)

What I want to do (without enabling macros) is this:
If the balance in column A5 is less than the balance in A8, then either:
1, highlight the background for the entire range A1-A8 (preferred); or
2, highlight column A5 in red bold font (least preferred); or
3, have some red ** in column A9

Is this possible in excel?

pcuser42
27-02-2010, 03:25 PM
It's possible with conditional formatting in Excel 2007.

Myth
27-02-2010, 03:29 PM
I think we use Excel 2003

We connect to the server via thin clients, so I can't really get 2007 installed
This is why I also asked for no macros - they have us reasonably locked down

pcuser42
27-02-2010, 03:33 PM
I have little experience with Excel 2003, but it's in there too. http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/excel/HA011116611033.aspx

Jen
27-02-2010, 04:29 PM
I've done this in Excel 2002/2003 using conditional formatting. You can only have two conditions though. No macros were required.

I had to use an additional column (cell) that contained a formula that generated a result eg Y or N. Your Y or N would be if the balance in column A5 is less than the balance in A8. So if A5 is less than A8, then display a "Y", otherwise display a "N".

I then used conditional formatting so that if an Y was the result, then make the Y font white (so it was invisible). If an N was present, then make the N font bold and red. This made a very obvious alert.

I couldn't say if this cell = N, then change the background (or font) in a different cell or range of cells. You can only apply the rule to the cell you are in. Hope that makes sense.

You should add the conditional formatting to whatever column does the maths for A5 and A8.

nofam