PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 to Windows XP



Kyla8472
27-02-2010, 04:05 AM
I recently bought a Packard Bell Desktop PC with Windows 7 Home Premium.

CPU - Intel Core Quad Q8300 2.50ghz/6gb ram/ 64 bit

Like many others, I can't use Direct x 9 or play my games with my x1950
I also can't install drivers for simple things like my new Samsung Mobile which I use PC Studio for.

I was wondering whether it would be better to install XP. I know I don't qualify for a downgrading licence or the Virtual XP mode due to my OS.

So my questions are : Is there any way I could install this? Would PC World do it for me? Would my system be compatible with XP SP2 upwards? How long will XP be supported in terms of updates etc? I've been told it's for another 3-4 years yet, so I'm hoping I can use it until something more compatible comes along.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

SolMiester
27-02-2010, 07:50 AM
You dont need to install DX9 to play games.?....The x1950 is an old card but will still play DX9 games....the issue you have with your phone is probably because its x64 bit...I would get a different phone if it were me..

Driftwood
27-02-2010, 08:12 AM
Would you put an old engine in a new car.

pcuser42
27-02-2010, 08:19 AM
:eek:

Windows XP won't even see all the RAM because it's 32 bit.

You should be able to play DirectX 9 games, Windows 7 supports up to DX11.

Speedy Gonzales
27-02-2010, 08:28 AM
You'll have to upgrade to XP SP3 (if you reinstall XP). Support for XP SP2, and windows 2000, will end July 13th this year. Support for Vista RTM (without service packs), will end 13th April this year.

There wont be anymore updates for any of these, after these dates

Sweep
27-02-2010, 08:32 AM
Dates are here:-

http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=5399&tag=nl.e019

wainuitech
27-02-2010, 08:38 AM
If you wanted to install XP Mode, even in Home Premium - its easy enough - have a look at My instructions here (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=107622&highlight=mode) post #3.

pctek
27-02-2010, 08:42 AM
Like many others, I can't use Direct x 9 or play my games with my x1950
.

What games? All 32bit games DX whatever, work in WIn 7 64bit.
16 bit games may not.

pcuser42
27-02-2010, 08:45 AM
16 bit games WILL NOT run on 64 bit. 64 bit versions of Windows lack the ability to run 16 bit applications.

autechre
01-03-2010, 09:21 AM
16 bit games WILL NOT run on 64 bit. 64 bit versions of Windows lack the ability to run 16 bit applications.
That's why DosBOX/VMWare/Dual booting were invented :D

In response to Kyla's post about dx9 games not working. If your game has a dx error, download & install the latest version of dx9c. It will install fine in Win7.
DirectX9.0c Feb 2010 (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=0CEF8180-E94A-4F56-B157-5AB8109CB4F5&displaylang=en) release.

Kyla8472
05-03-2010, 06:26 AM
Games Question: One example is Knights of the Old Republic - sure I can install directx 9 but the game will not load/display properly even when running in compatibility mode..and I've tried installing legacy drivers for the card...Windows 7 refuses to install them.

As for the phone..it was bought about two weeks before the old computer died..I don't see why my husband should have to buy another so soon. It's not the end of the world but more of an annoyance.

Thanks for the suggestion of using VMlite for XP mode..I installed it okay...although I'm not sure it's 100% legal due to my current OS. Either way, no matter what I do, I cannot connect to the internet in this mode as there's no tabs for 'Tools' or 'Settings' like in the proper XP mode package. Yes I can access Network through the device tab...but no matter what I select..nothing. I'm obviously not doing something right in regards to my connection so any help there would be great.

Many Thanks.

gary67
05-03-2010, 06:37 AM
The VMlite XP mode is perfectly legal. On this forum unlike other forums we don't condone illegal behaviour and since it was suggested by Wainuitech well he is a very respected member of this forum and runs his own successful computer repair business

autechre
05-03-2010, 10:22 AM
Games Question: One example is Knights of the Old Republic
This site (http://www.thegalacticstruggle.com/2009/11/30/fix-for-knights-of-the-old-republic-windows-7/) may have a solution for you. I don't have the game to try it out.

wainuitech
05-03-2010, 08:32 PM
Either way, no matter what I do, I cannot connect to the internet in this mode as there's no tabs for 'Tools' or 'Settings' like in the proper XP mode package. The Majority of the functions in VMlite/XP mode are still there, you just have to know where to look and how they operate. Tools/Settings in XP mode, are replaced in VMlite by Machine & devices - they just operate differently - goes back to learning the software and the way it works. Check your network settings, click on Devices/Network adaptors, see if yours is the same Mine (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/VMlite.PNG) - Please note I'm replying Via VMlite - so it does work.

One thing people forget, XP mode is not meant to work 100% the same as a full install of XP, its designed to mainly run programs that W7 wont.

As for legal-- Look at it this way - If MS wanted to make sure you had the "correct OS" they would have set it up so you had to prove it, either by checking the OS you are using, or entering some other form of ID. MS are not completely stupid ( open for debate by some) - if its a simple choice of selecting a different OS from a drop down box and its free --- well figure it out. :rolleyes:

pctek
05-03-2010, 08:48 PM
One example is Knights of the Old Republic - will not load/display

Either way, no matter what I do, I cannot connect to the internet in this mode.

Why do you need to?

The game was designed in 2003, 98/XP. SO it should run fine. Maybe its not the O/S or DX thats your problem.

SolMiester
06-03-2010, 08:32 AM
In response to Kyla's post about dx9 games not working. If your game has a dx error, download & install the latest version of dx9c. It will install fine in Win7.
DirectX9.0c Feb 2010 (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=0CEF8180-E94A-4F56-B157-5AB8109CB4F5&displaylang=en) release.

AFAIK, you dont need to install dx9, dx11 or 10 is backwards compatible.