PDA

View Full Version : Help - Borland Data Base Engine



kbcad
22-02-2010, 02:18 PM
I am having problems with my Family tree Database conversion, which uses Borland DBE. I have upgraded Kith & Kin (aka Of that Ilk) to version 3, and need to run the conversion programme KKP3Conversion.exe to convert my old data files to the new version. On doing so, I get an error message: Error - Borland DBE -(error $2A06), which I have found somewhere as meaning that the DBE failed to initialise. Kith & Kin do not support the Borland product. All help much appreciated.
Win XP.
Thanks, KB.

Paul.Cov
22-02-2010, 05:57 PM
Which operating system are you using? Windows XP or something older?

mikebartnz
22-02-2010, 09:54 PM
You say you upgraded Kith & Kin but it does not support the Borland DBE. Please tell us more.
What does Kith & Kin support and what did you upgrade from. If you keep having trouble you could send it to me as I have the full Borland DBE or else export as a gedcom file from the old version.

Ofthesea
22-02-2010, 09:58 PM
Export to GEDCOM seems like a really good move, then import to a new blank DB

kbcad
25-02-2010, 08:08 PM
Thanks for replies. The suggestion by Ofthesea seems to have done the trick. KB.