PDA

View Full Version : Enable "New Task" Button in Task Manager



chiefnz
22-02-2010, 01:55 PM
Hi guys,

I am trying to find out how you can enable and disable the "NEW TASK" button in the Task Manager using gpedit.

I have a thin client which I need to enable this on but cannot find how to do this. I managed to successfully re-eanble the Task Manager but the "NEW TASK" button is still greyd out.

Anyone got any ideas on this?

I haven't found anything accurate enough on the web as yet.

Thanks,

Speedy Gonzales
22-02-2010, 02:11 PM
What version of windows?

jwil1
22-02-2010, 04:10 PM
Enable access to the Run command on the Start menu.

pkm
22-02-2010, 04:18 PM
I think theres a registry hack

narutophantom
22-02-2010, 04:45 PM
Interesting, I'm on windows 7 and have new task(run) in my task manager. But I personally just use windows + r, much easier

Blam
22-02-2010, 05:24 PM
GPE>User Configuration>Administrative Templates>Start Menu and Taskbar

Disable Remove run from Start Menu

Blam

wainuitech
22-02-2010, 05:30 PM
Try this -- Just looked on W7 ULT and its there. Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Task.jpg) Other OS's, Server 2003 Terminal server should be similar

Open gpedit --- User Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Task Scheduler

double clink or open "Disable New Task Creation" Enable or disable ( opposite to what you have now)

wainuitech
22-02-2010, 05:34 PM
GPE>User Configuration>Administrative Templates>Start Menu and Taskbar

Disable Remove run from Start Menu

Blam Thats doesn't enable / Enable New Task from task manager - I checked.

Blam
22-02-2010, 05:41 PM
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/292504


Policy:Remove Run item from Start Menu
Description:Removes the ability to execute programs from the Run option
on the Start menu, Task Manager, or by pressing Winkey + R. Also removes
the corresponding checkbox from the Start menu customization CPL.
Registry Value:"NoRun"


Note that the OP never mentioned what the OS was, but I am assuming XP as the most likely OS

See attached screenshot from group policy editor(also W7 ULT)

Blam

wainuitech
22-02-2010, 05:50 PM
I tried it on XP Pro - didn't work even after a reboot.

Being gpedit, it has to be a server or XP pro / 2000 as home versions dont have that function.


Removes the ability to execute programs from the Run option Really helpful that is, disables many options when "run" wont work.

Blam
22-02-2010, 05:52 PM
According the the MS article, it works in XP....

Just tried it in 7 too and it works fine..

Blam

wainuitech
22-02-2010, 06:08 PM
To completely disable the run command is NUTS. I tried that here, didn't work. Any way, the OP didn't want to disable it, only enable it.

Only XP Pro has gpedit -- its not in XP home.

Blam
22-02-2010, 06:11 PM
Yes, I know, I was telling the OP to check if the option was enabled...

And I know XP Home doesn't have GPE....what is your point exactly...?

wainuitech
22-02-2010, 06:15 PM
Yes, I know, I was telling the OP to check if the option was enabled...

And I know XP Home doesn't have GPE....what is your point exactly...?

The point is the method you suggested may have worked for you, but didn't for me - the method I suggested, may or may not work for every one as well. So theres two options / suggestions.

Who gives a toss as long as one works.

chiefnz
22-02-2010, 06:42 PM
OS is Windows XP Embedded 2009.

I managed to allow access to the task manager and from the file menu can initiate a new task.

I do not want to do this permanently... this is just for testing purposes to achieve a particular goal.

I may have found a solution for what I want to do, so thanks for all the advice.

Cheers,