PDA

View Full Version : Installing KDE on Debian Lenny

nofam
18-02-2010, 11:40 AM
I'm sure this is a total noob question, but I can't figure out how to point aptitude at a mirror for KDE.

I've uncommented the locations in /etc/apt/sources.list, and I know the proxy settings in apt.conf are working as I can do an apt-get update fine?

When I try to apt-get install kde I just get a Couldn't find package error.

Sure it's something simple I'm missing??

:blush:

Sweep
18-02-2010, 11:47 AM
The command line I used was #apt-get install kdm kde-core

Then it will bring down the rest of the package.

nofam
18-02-2010, 11:54 AM

Then it will bring down the rest of the package.

Yeah tried that too, with same result - does apt-get use FTP? Because I've only added an entry in apt.conf for http proxy authentication?

Sweep
18-02-2010, 12:02 PM
Haven't had it long enough to know but I never configured a proxy. I download it from the NZ site and I see that the address was http://ftp.debian something

Erayd
18-02-2010, 12:46 PM
...I've uncommented the locations in /etc/apt/sources.list...Which locations, and why? KDE is in the main repositories, you don't need to uncomment anything to get it.

...When I try to apt-get install kde I just get a Couldn't find package error.That's extremely strange. What does the command 'apt-cache search ^kde$' give you?

Then it will bring down the rest of the package.That won't get all of kde unfortunately - kde-core will just pull down a 'barebones' kde, and kdm is the graphical login manager. If you want *all* of kde, run 'apt-get install kde' - everything else will then come rocketing down the wire :).

This (http://packages.debian.org/lenny/kde) should give you some idea of what you're missing.

Yeah tried that too, with same result - does apt-get use FTP? Because I've only added an entry in apt.conf for http proxy authentication?It can, but doesn't by default.