PDA

View Full Version : Memory upgrade problem



Tony
17-02-2010, 01:26 PM
I've just changed my RAM from 4 x 1gb ddr2-800 to 4 x 2gb ddr2-1066.

The new memory is all being recognized, but the start-up screen sayas it is only running at 800. The mobo is an ASUS M3A-H/HDMI, and according to the manual it supports DDR2-1066. It has the latest BIOS update. I can't see anywhere where I can set anything, so does anyone have any suggestions?

Thebananamonkey
17-02-2010, 01:38 PM
You'll have to go into the clock settings in your BIOS. Have a play around.

You'll want to change the ratio between your FSB and your RAM clocks. Find out what BIOS you're running and looking online for a manual for it is probably a good start.

You probably won't notice a huge amount of difference in your system. I assume you haven't overclocked your CPU or anything like that? If you have, you'll find the RAM multiplier settings in with the settings you used to change FSB Multiplier/FSB Clock etc.

pctek
17-02-2010, 02:36 PM
4 x DIMM, Max. 8 GB, DDR2 1066/800/667 ECC,Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory
Dual Channel memory architecture
*DDR2 1066 is supported by AM2+ CPU only
**When installing total memory of 4GB capacity or more, Windows® 32-bit operation system may only recognize less than 3GB. Hence, a total installed memory of less than 3GB is recommended.

Tony
17-02-2010, 02:59 PM
DDR2 1066 is supported by AM2+ CPU onlyI think that may be it. According to Belarc Advisor, I have "2.90 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core" which I suspect is AM2 rather than AM2+ :(

pctek
17-02-2010, 05:14 PM
Oh well, its not a massive difference in performance with the speed of the RAM , you have more of it so thats the main thing.

Tony
17-02-2010, 05:49 PM
Quite right. It just means I could have spent a bit less money.