PDA

View Full Version : Here's a pearler - online yet IE8 says no!



straka01
15-02-2010, 06:41 PM
I'm fixing another freinds PC - he's a Catholic priest.
Anyway - he said he can't seem to go online lately (wireless).
Now he's been using this system for some years and it's worked just fine - until now.

When I got it home it kept saying it was connected to my wireless network - but I couldn't get IE to connect - he uses Hotmail as his homepage.

I gave his Toshiba Laptop a good cleanup - reg, temp, internet cache, etc.
Updated to IE8 (from flash-drive) & AVG 9.07 (from flash-drive).
Then went & updated AVG online - downloaded 30mb in no time yet (guess what) IE8 says it can't get online!
He's running XP Pro with SP3 installed.


The message it comes up with when you try to open IE8 is "INTERNET EXPLORER CANNOT DISPLAY THE WEBPAGE'.
Any ideas what's going on here?

GameJunkie
15-02-2010, 06:48 PM
try another browser

Driftwood
15-02-2010, 07:02 PM
I guess you tryed this.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/956196

pctek
15-02-2010, 07:06 PM
De-spywared it did you? Being a catholic priest and all those pron sites.........

nedkelly
15-02-2010, 07:18 PM
proxy settings in IE?

Sweep
15-02-2010, 07:26 PM
Local hosts file?

wainuitech
15-02-2010, 09:20 PM
Open IE- on the right- tools, make sure Work Off line is NOT ticked. Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Work_Off_Line.jpg) Note: I'm using IE pro so it may look a little different on a standard IE.

theother1
16-02-2010, 11:13 AM
I had a similar problem with Firefox yesterday.
downloaded emails no prob but when I tried to open FF it said that no internet connection was available, check that you are not working offline".
I did and the workoffline box was ticked. I have never ticked that box!!!!
What I would like to know is how would that occur without me ticking the box?

Sweep
16-02-2010, 11:30 AM
If you are on a dial up connection and it does not connect then the work offline gets ticked regardless. Also the mail client could be configured to hang up after downloading emails. Or hang up after so many minutes of inactivity.

If broadband then I pass.

theother1
16-02-2010, 12:23 PM
Yes Sweep, I am on broadband at work and cable at home.
Is anyone still on dail-up?
It has me beat as well!

Speedy Gonzales
16-02-2010, 02:18 PM
Reset IE then reconfigure it. Then see what happens

Gobe1
16-02-2010, 03:12 PM
De-spywared it did you? Being a catholic priest and all those pron sites.........

ouch... Gee Pctek you are sure........."negative"..... these days
Everything ok?

straka01
19-02-2010, 06:39 PM
Thanks everyone.
I got it sorted.
It was Windows Live - Essentials, etc. The firewall was treating it like a threat.
Once uninstalled (that was a mission) - everything ran fine.
What do you think is the best free firewall?

wainuitech
19-02-2010, 08:31 PM
Windows Live ( Essentials) doesn't have a firewall. :confused: it has these (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Live.jpg) - even Microsoft Security Essentials has only a AV and antispyware - No firewall.


It was Windows Live - Essentials, etc. The firewall was treating it like a threat.
Once uninstalled (that was a mission) - everything ran fine.
What do you think is the best free firewall?
it appears you are describing two separate items Windows Live & a firewall.