PDA

View Full Version : Not booting on new memory



Cato
13-02-2010, 10:00 AM
Got an msi 7252 board, it had 512mb ddr 2 667... I added one stick of 2gb ddr 2 800.
Does not boot. No beeps.

They don't work together, the latter does not work alone. But the original works perfectly by itself.

Would the board not support 800 or would the stick be damaged and need returning?
Thanks

wainuitech
13-02-2010, 10:24 AM
The board should support the memory OK
Supports Dual DDR II 533/667/800
- 4 DDRII DIMMs (240pin / 1.8V)
- Supports a maximum memory size up to 8GB.


BTW looks like its a K9NGM from Their site (http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=&cat3_no=&prod_no=256)

Have you tried the memory in another PC ?

Edited: the board should take the 2GB memory - make sure you have it in Slot1 memory Layout (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/memory_2.jpg) also From manual (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Memory1.jpg)

Sweep
13-02-2010, 10:26 AM
According to the manual the M/B will support DDR2 up to 4 x 2G/B and up to 800.

feersumendjinn
13-02-2010, 10:54 AM
the latter does not work alone
Probably a dud.

The stick be damaged and needs returning
:D

Cato
13-02-2010, 11:16 AM
Went out got a new replacement stick. Still no go. Any ideas?

wainuitech
13-02-2010, 03:10 PM
Is the PC a name brand with that board, or a built up one. For some odd reason it may not like the brand of memory - seen that a few times.

Try reseting the BIOS back to default as well.

Cato
13-02-2010, 03:18 PM
Aaaah.

What a cluster****.

Clearing the COMS solved everything. Took me 5 hours to think to do that. What a ****ing moron I am.

wainuitech
13-02-2010, 06:23 PM
Aaaah.

What a cluster****.

Clearing the COMS solved everything. Took me 5 hours to think to do that. What a ****ing moron I am.

NO not really - sometimes the answer is looking you in the face as the saying goes - just needs someone to suggest it :D

Enjoy the new speed :)