PDA

View Full Version : Fibre link to roadside cabinet



nedkelly
01-02-2010, 03:26 PM
Hey my mate was asking me if there was some way he could get a fibre link to his roadside box instead of copper for his internet because he wants faster internet. Is it possible?

SolMiester
01-02-2010, 03:32 PM
Do you have any idea how much fibre cabling costs?....for me, a 4 cable in 2 conduits to the building next door with termination into switch = $5k

nedkelly
01-02-2010, 03:38 PM
yeah I knew it would be expensive but he wanted me to find out.

Gobe1
01-02-2010, 03:45 PM
Just tell him "no"

nofam
01-02-2010, 03:56 PM
Hey my mate was asking me if there was some way he could get a fibre link to his roadside box instead of copper for his internet because he wants faster internet. Is it possible?

I hope he wasn't planning on using his existing modem either. . . . . :p

nedkelly
01-02-2010, 03:58 PM
he actually was until I told him you need a different one.

somebody
01-02-2010, 06:32 PM
Get a quote from Telecom/Chorus. The cost would probably be into the thousands of dollars per month.

Gobe1
02-02-2010, 11:05 AM
He could start his own isp tho...

KarameaDave
02-02-2010, 11:26 AM
He could start his own isp tho...
Probably cheaper LOL

Agent_24
02-02-2010, 12:05 PM
If it's so expensive, why were Telecom going on about "Fibre to the premises" a while ago?

pkm
02-02-2010, 12:44 PM
If it's so expensive, why were Telecom going on about "Fibre to the premises" a while ago?
I dont know.
I remember john key talking about downloading movies in 10 seconds or something ridiculous. Yes,its theoretically possilble - the KAREN network might run at those sorts of speeds but at incredible cost.

Id prefer the current ADSL plans with large caps than super fast 40-100mbit with tiny data caps youd use in 1minute.

Agent_24
02-02-2010, 02:04 PM
Yeah I find my ADSL to be good enough. Well it was good enough, until the speed decreased for no reason.

The technician says the line is probably overloaded with too many people, I don't know if it's true or not.

I personally think it's faulty, but what do I know?

nofam
02-02-2010, 04:19 PM
As various people in this forum have said, the whole FTTP hype is just that - the last mile of copper/fibre/packets-sent-over-bloody-jasmine-scented-air is irrelevant if the we're all reliant on one cable to link New Zealand to the rest of the world. If we had sufficient backhaul to the US/Europe, VDSL would probably suffice.

It's analogous to the number of megapixels a camera has; it's only important up to a point, and then becomes irrelevant as other factors come into play.

somebody
02-02-2010, 06:43 PM
If it's so expensive, why were Telecom going on about "Fibre to the premises" a while ago?

It's expensive now, because it's still a niche market. When you connect 75% of homes & businesses up to it, the costs come down as economies of scale become a factor.

Agent_24
02-02-2010, 06:56 PM
Will economies of scale kick in if we get 100 southern cross cables to support the demand for bandwidth with 75% of NZ on fibre? :p

somebody
02-02-2010, 07:00 PM
Will economies of scale kick in if we get 100 southern cross cables to support the demand for bandwidth with 75% of NZ on fibre? :p

You won't get 100 SCC cables - you'll get some increase in capacity, more aggressive local caching of content, and a shift to hosting high-bandwidth content like IPTV locally rather than overseas.

On the other hand, if you go to a cable laying firm which specialises in international fibre links, and say you want 100 cables laid between NZ and the USA + Australia, then you'll get a damn good deal as you would have just guaranteed them decades of work.

Agent_24
02-02-2010, 07:08 PM
Damn, that actually makes sense!

I wonder at which point we could have bandwidth via multiple undersea cables and demand so high that we would effectively DDoS the rest of the internet?