PDA

View Full Version : Finding Install Key Photoshop 6



Happy Harry
01-02-2010, 12:40 PM
Hi Guys
with reference to an earlier thread [URL="http://http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=106848"
I have the disk operating now but have not been able to find the get the Photo Shop 6 installation key from the disk. The customer owns a valid copy but as stated previously are not able to locate the disks and Adobe are not forth coming with any help for this older product
I have the disk installed in a USB cradle and have used both Belarc and Magic Jelly bean to find the key. No success so far.
Has anyone got any hints/ help for this issue.

Cheers
HH

Speedy Gonzales
01-02-2010, 12:51 PM
Look in the registry under the photoshop entry. Your link doesnt work. Try this (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=106848). Altho if you've formatted the hdd, you wont find the key. Does the hdd still work / can you boot into windows with it?

Happy Harry
01-02-2010, 01:51 PM
Look in the registry under the photoshop entry. Your link doesnt work. Try this (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=106848). Altho if you've formatted the hdd, you wont find the key. Does the hdd still work / can you boot into windows with it?

Thanks Speedy.
I have the hard disk up and running, but not in the original PC as this was killed by water (P/S Mobo Memory DVD etc)
After lots of TLC I have the HD accessable when installed in a USB cradle and I can see the files/data.
I don't know if you can access Registry on a 2ndary hard drive but would be interested to try.
Most of the Key Finders only locate OS and some apps on the C: drive and don't have the ability to look at 2ndary hard drives. I will persivere for a while although any input will be appreciated.
Cheers
HH

KarameaDave
01-02-2010, 01:57 PM
Did you tell MJB to load the registry hive of the secondary drive?
It is under tools>load hive, if I remember correctly

Happy Harry
01-02-2010, 04:45 PM
Did you tell MJB to load the registry hive of the secondary drive?
It is under tools>load hive, if I remember correctly

Yes I have but thanks for the input.
Strange thing. I have just copied the complete Photoshop 6 Directory from the Programs Files folder on the original drive and copied it to my testbed PC.
Surprise surprise, I can then run photoshop 6 on the test bed PC from that directory.
It would seem that the older versions of Photoshop put all the required DLLs and files in this one directory without putting anything into Registry.
I will try this on the customers new PC and have them test for full functionality.
Should have tried this on day one but who would have thought it would work.

Cheers
HH