PDA

View Full Version : Updating router firmware problem



gherrington
25-01-2010, 12:26 PM
I've been recently trying to update my D-Link DSL-504T router's firmware but when I have downloaded the firmware, the file (a bin file) is assigned to be opened by VLC media player. I know the VLC player plays bin files but I have disabled VLC from playing bin files and I have even uninstalled VLC yet this file still tries to open under VLC.

The problem with this is when I upload this file into the routers firmware update page it says incorrect file chosen. So my main question is how do I make this file stop automatically choosing VLC as the preferred application to open with? I hope that if the file is not opening with VLC I'll be able to update the firmware properly. I have windows 7 if that helps. Thanks in advance.

trinsic
25-01-2010, 12:32 PM
VLC's preference to opening bin files should not conflict with your router trying to use it itself. Make sure you have the right firmware.

Speedy Gonzales
25-01-2010, 12:41 PM
Since you cant update the firmware with vista, I would say you cant update it with win7 either.You may need XP

trinsic
25-01-2010, 12:44 PM
Since you cant update the firmware with vista, I would say you cant update it with win7 either.You may need XP
For a router? I'd say try a different browser, found Firefox doesn't like a certain Netgear router I use to have (updated fine in IE).

Speedy Gonzales
25-01-2010, 12:48 PM
Yup thats what it says on the dlink site

Someone tried updating another dlink modem with Vista in here. And bricked it. But managed to get it going again

trinsic
25-01-2010, 12:50 PM
Lol that is absolutely insane. Well done DLink.

Terry Porritt
25-01-2010, 01:51 PM
As far as I can see, it is using option B with the .exe file that is not recommended/suitable with Vista. They say use the web interface binary file.

"FIRMWARE UPGRADE STEPS

- You may have two options with the new firmware:
# (A) *RECOMMENDED OPTION* WEB Interface binary (WEB) file.
# (B) Firmware upgrade utility (EXE) file. Note: this option is not suitable for Windows Vista."

http://www.dlink.co.nz/tech/Default.asp (enter model number and go to firmware upgrade page)

feersumendjinn
25-01-2010, 02:06 PM
Try going to Control Panel>Default Programs to sort your VLC problem.

wratterus
25-01-2010, 02:08 PM
I have never had any issues with a particular OS, IF you go through the router to update the firmware, not using the tool that the manufacturer sometimes provides.

D-link normally make it very simple - use IE to do the update, go to the ip address of the router (normally 10.1.1.1), login, click on tools then firmware, click browse, browse to the .bin file on your PC (make sure you unzipped it if it was zipped) and click open, then apply.

That ought to work.

The file association for .bin files might as well be set for bill gates himself to open, it makes no difference.

gherrington
25-01-2010, 02:41 PM
Just an update. I've changed browsers and now the bin file is not opening with VLC but with Windows Shell Common Dll. I've tried updating the firmware using IE but it still says "the update file you chose is incorrect". I've triple checked my modem and the upgrade file I chose and they both are correct.

I've been trying to update the firmware through the procedure that wratterus has in place.

I'm not too sure what Terry Porritt means by this

"# (A) *RECOMMENDED OPTION* WEB Interface binary (WEB) file."

I think I have been doing this option but any advice on how to check if I have?

Thanks

wratterus
25-01-2010, 02:47 PM
You sure you got the right revision?

http://files.dlink.com.au/products/_images/REV_A.jpg

http://files.dlink.com.au/products/_images/REV_C.jpg

Terry Porritt
25-01-2010, 03:28 PM
Just an update. I've changed browsers and now the bin file is not opening with VLC but with Windows Shell Common Dll. I've tried updating the firmware using IE but it still says "the update file you chose is incorrect". I've triple checked my modem and the upgrade file I chose and they both are correct.

I've been trying to update the firmware through the procedure that wratterus has in place.

I'm not too sure what Terry Porritt means by this

"# (A) *RECOMMENDED OPTION* WEB Interface binary (WEB) file."

I think I have been doing this option but any advice on how to check if I have?

Thanks

It just means use your browser to open the router configuration/control page and update using the .bin file.

Here are the full instructions from their website, note it says important to do a router reset, Quote;

"How do I upgrade firmware?
WARNING: DO NOT upgrade the firmware through a wireless connection. You may damage the router. Note that you will have to reconfigure the router after upgrading.

FIRMWARE UPGRADE STEPS

- You may have two options with the new firmware:
# (A) *RECOMMENDED OPTION* WEB Interface binary (WEB) file.
# (B) Firmware upgrade utility (EXE) file. Note: this option is not suitable for Windows Vista.

# Option (A) steps (Recommended option)


Step 1. Download the .BIN (WEB) firmware file from the DOWNLOADS folder of the product tree. Please ensure to check the Revision of your router via the silver sticker on the bottom of the device. Ensure to download the appropriate firmware (WEB) for your Revision. NOTE: Ensure to download the .BIN (WEB) Firmware file and not the EXE. If the firmware file comes in compressed (ZIP) format, extract it and note the folder you've extracted/saved it to. To extract ZIP files you can use Windows XP or a utility from www.winzip.com.

It is important to perform a Factory Reset prior to updating the firmware, this can be accomplished as per below:
1. Locate the reset pinhole on the back of the unit.
2. With the unit powered on, press and hold the Reset button.
3. Hold the Reset button for about 10 seconds.
4. Release the Reset button.
5. The device is now at factory defaults.

Step 2. Open your Internet Browser and in the address bar type in http://10.1.1.1. Press Enter and you will be promted to enter username and password to log into the router's configuration: Username = admin Password = admin

Step 3. Click on Tools > Firmware.

Step 4. Click the Browse button, via the dialog that pops up, browse for the .BIN (WEB) Firmware file that you downloaded earlier.

Step 5. Highlight the file, then click on the Open button on the dialog box.

Step 6. The router Configuration page will show the location of the file you are using. Note: Ensure that its the correct one to use. Click on the Apply button.

Step 7. The router will begin the update to the new firmware. Note: It is important to not disrupt this process.

Step 8. When the firmware has been successfully applied, the Configuration Page will return to the main Configuration screen when you first successfully login.

Step 9. You can ensure that the firmware upgrade was successful by clicking on the Status Menu, and referring to the Firmware version which is displayed at the top of the Status Menu.

Step 10. Once the firmware upgrade is successful, please perform again a factory reset as per below:
1. Locate the reset pinhole on the back of the unit.
2. With the unit powered on, press and hold the Reset button.
3. Hold the Reset button for about 10 seconds.
4. Release the Reset button.
5. The device is now at factory defaults.

Step 11. Once this has been performed, you have successfully updated the firmware and you may continue to configure the router as per your Internet Provider requirements. Please refer to 'Connect to Internet' folder of the product tree on our web site for some setup examples. Save the settings under Tools > System > Save & Reboot."
.......end of quote

Speedy Gonzales
25-01-2010, 04:40 PM
Yup it sounds like you're double clicking on this bin file (you dont). You log into the router then load it from within the browser

gherrington
25-01-2010, 10:00 PM
You sure you got the right revision?

http://files.dlink.com.au/products/_images/REV_A.jpg

http://files.dlink.com.au/products/_images/REV_C.jpg

Thank you good sir. You have solved it. The problem was that I was downloading the firmware off the xtra website as I thought that would give me the correct firmware for DSL-504T. It only had 1 file to download so I assumed there was only one type of upgrade but the firmware upgrade on the xtra website must just be for A type DSL-504T. I had a C type. So I went onto the D-Link website and found a firmware upgrade for C type which worked. So thank you all for helping.

Agent_24
25-01-2010, 11:07 PM
Even if you are using Telecom's firmware you can change to D-Link standard. Did that on a DSL-302G, no problems.

Didn't solve the problem that the hardware is junk and the firmware is buggy, though.

wratterus
25-01-2010, 11:09 PM
Thank you good sir. You have solved it. The problem was that I was downloading the firmware off the xtra website as I thought that would give me the correct firmware for DSL-504T. It only had 1 file to download so I assumed there was only one type of upgrade but the firmware upgrade on the xtra website must just be for A type DSL-504T. I had a C type. So I went onto the D-Link website and found a firmware upgrade for C type which worked. So thank you all for helping.

Ahh, good to know! ;)