PDA

View Full Version : almost useless dial up modem



h0b0_321
25-01-2010, 01:59 AM
My dial up modem will either freeze my whole pc (so I have to reset it) or time out so I either have to shut down/hibernate and turn my pc on again so it actually starts working again.
I recently had a hardware change where it would freeze my pc only after 5mins,
I have undone this change but it still freezes/times out at least once an hour.
In the day it is worst (notice I posted this at 2am)
any help?

ps it only has a chance of freezing when I actually use it to surf the net

Roger Hunt
25-01-2010, 02:36 AM
You will need to give more info about your modem first

gary67
25-01-2010, 06:35 AM
Computer specs, operating system, type of modem?

Sir Prospect
25-01-2010, 11:21 AM
I presume this started after you installed the Dial-up Modem? Need more info mate.

Agent_24
25-01-2010, 02:54 PM
I recently had a hardware change where it would freeze my pc only after 5mins,
I have undone this change but it still freezes/times out at least once an hour.

What was the hardware change?

Has the modem worked OK before?

PENTIUM
25-01-2010, 06:37 PM
You do not say where you are or who your ISP is. You would not by any chance be on Woosh?

h0b0_321
26-01-2010, 12:55 AM
win xp sp3
intel pentium 4 3.06ghz
660gb hdd
768 mb ram
256 mb graphics
pc model hp a1350a
hardware change was adding 2gb ram
modem is agere systems pci-sv92pp soft modem
modem started freezing after freezing after a failed OS (win 7 rc(I think) and become most noticeable after adding 2gb ram

Agent_24
26-01-2010, 09:43 AM
Run memtest86+ and make sure the memory is OK. www.memtest.org