PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Money

John Robb
23-01-2010, 09:03 PM
I have been using MS Money since 2004 and just before Xmas my compuetr crashed. I have the program disk and backups so all should be OK.
However I bought a new computer running Win 7 and I can't get money to run.
I have a feeling that I upgraded the original program to a later version some years ago.
When I start money 2004 it says it cant read my data. I downloaded Money 2007 from MSoft as a trial version but that also says it cannot read my data.
The sequence of events goes like this:
1 The program loads and says it will convert the data.
2 However it then says it cannot locate or cannot convert the file.
Exactly the same thing happens with the newer version.

I suspect it may have something to do with Win 7. I have not tried Microsoft as they have stopped selling and supporting Money.

Any ideas would be most welcome
Cheers
John

CliveM
23-01-2010, 09:26 PM
I had the same problem.
The fix is to forget about your data - Install MSMoney and set it up as if you have never used it before (Just put in a small amount of tempory stuff for it to use). It will go on line and update itself. Once that is done close MSMoney - find the file it made using explorer - delete it - replace that file with yours - it will then work ok.

wainuitech
23-01-2010, 09:29 PM
Will the program and data load on another XP computer -- Just to make sure its not corrupted some place ??

If it does, install XP Mode on the PC - Have a read Post 8 (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=106788) and last lines in post 4 from this thread-- May or may not be of some help.

John Robb
23-01-2010, 10:21 PM
Many thanks Clive, your fix worked a treat.
What a lifesaver!
Am switching to quicken but having the old data is worth a great deal to me
Once again many thanks
Cheers
John

gary67
24-01-2010, 09:24 AM