PDA

View Full Version : USB hubs



Chris Randal
21-01-2010, 11:56 AM
Using a 4 port USB hub - can you use the 4 ports on the hub at once or just one at a time?

Sweep
21-01-2010, 11:58 AM
Depends. Is it a powered hub?

Speedy Gonzales
21-01-2010, 12:03 PM
Altho hubs dont work with everything

wainuitech
21-01-2010, 01:06 PM
Usually you can, just depending on whats being run from them. Powered hubs will be better than non powered hubs.

pctek
21-01-2010, 04:32 PM
Sometimes if you try to install the device through a hub Windows gets confused. Install it plugged in by itself, then plug them all back into the hub.
SHould be fine then.

Chris Randal
21-01-2010, 07:45 PM
Thanks people....

Woody
22-01-2010, 01:27 AM
I'm running XP and have a 7 port hub.
I've never had any prob's at all regardless of what I have plugged in at the time.
I've never needed all 7 ports at once but have an Epson Clr printer and a 1Tb ext drive all the time with 1 or 2 flash drives intermittently.
I guess the max number of ports I've used at any one time would be 5 - 6.
It's a powered hub and the ext drive and printer are both self powered.
You shouldn't have too much trouble but safer if it's a powered unit.

cheers