PDA

View Full Version : A picture is required



Kaycee
16-01-2010, 01:25 PM
Is there some lovely person out there who can find me a picture of where to put a sim card directly into a Dell Inspiron mini.

The prepay vodafone vodem is not connecting and the powers to be that I have spoken to today say take the battery off and slot the sim card in the slot.

Well Ive looked and I cant see it ..... and I have my glasses on ..... have been cruising Dell site for and hour trying to find something but no joy

Many thanks

Hope you are having a better day than mine

stormdragon
16-01-2010, 01:29 PM
What model mini is it?

Kaycee
16-01-2010, 01:33 PM
Mini 10 :)

PinoyKiw
16-01-2010, 01:36 PM
A quick google search does make mention of a sim card slot under the main battery of various dell laptops but it appears to be something for the USA market according to other posts.

http://apcmag.com/scoop_we_review_the_inspiron_mini_12__dells_supers ized_yet_superslim_12_inch_netbook.htm

Have a read of this article, may not be your specific model but it shows a sim card slot. About half way down the article.

Kaycee
16-01-2010, 01:42 PM
humm .... thank you .... nope it doesnt have one ... back to the drawing board it is strange as the vodem will connect on my machine (toshiba) but not on the Mini ... keep saying that some other programme is using it

stormdragon
16-01-2010, 01:42 PM
This (http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1010/en/sm/index.htm) should be the instructions for disassembling the laptop.

This (http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1010/en/sm/usbpwrbr.htm#wp1179891) page related specifically to the sim.

Kaycee
16-01-2010, 01:57 PM
oooh ... that looks way way past my expertise ... shucks .... if it was mine Id give it a go .... but this machine is new and not mine and it would be just my luck .... I would end up owning a white elephant :)

Kaycee
16-01-2010, 01:58 PM
that second link is the same as the first ?

somebody
16-01-2010, 02:20 PM
Was the machine bought from Vodafone, or from Dell? I don't think the ones bought directly from Dell have an inbuilt 3G modem as standard, so yours might not have that slot.

Kaycee
16-01-2010, 02:32 PM
It was brought from Dell.

Back to the drawing board .... another question if I may

Ok the vodem work on my lappy .... so I know it ok
The Dell finds the vodem .... finds the network .... starts connecting and then comes up with

You wont believe this .... connected so I could give you the error and the bleep connected ..... Ive been been mucking for three days trying to get this bleep thing to work ........ grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

KarameaDave
16-01-2010, 02:40 PM
Ah, the joys of technology!:D