PDA

View Full Version : 32 or 64 bit



prefect
14-01-2010, 11:12 AM
Bought new laptop from Playtech its got W7 os during the setup it asked whether to use 32 or 64 I pushed 32 as the kids were hanging out to use it.
Should I change it to 64 its does not have any peripherals attached to it other than usb stick and I want it to print on printers in lounge its on wireless.
Thanks
Collin

Speedy Gonzales
14-01-2010, 11:14 AM
Up to you. Just as long as there's 64 bit drivers, for the printer, it should be fine

wratterus
14-01-2010, 11:16 AM
No need to unless you want to use more than about 3.5GB of RAM

pctek
14-01-2010, 12:20 PM
I would. 32bit is so last century now. And while you may not need 4Gb now, you will.

I remember a friend being astounded I'd put 128MB in my PC.......

prefect
14-01-2010, 12:56 PM
Its got 4gb of ram what are the chances of getting drivers for a 5 year old hp 3 in 1 printer?
Thanks for help so far.

Speedy Gonzales
14-01-2010, 12:59 PM
Search for the model on the HP site. Even tho this brother printer is pretty old, (well its been discontinued), win 7 x64 bit drivers came out last year. And I'm using it on this now (it used to be on XP)

wratterus
14-01-2010, 01:14 PM
Its got 4gb of ram what are the chances of getting drivers for a 5 year old hp 3 in 1 printer?
Thanks for help so far.

Great chances, hp and windows have always got along well and win7 is great with driver support, regardless of whether it's 32 of 64 bit.

Nomad
14-01-2010, 02:41 PM
Me thinks down the road 64bit would be standard.
I remember when 32MB RAM was enof, anything more was considered a waste of money.