PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Linux gurus.... (PCI-E NIC causing all sorts of trouble)



Agent_24
13-01-2010, 11:13 PM
When trying to get my new PCI-E NIC into Gigabit mode, my system starts having issues. this happens on XP\Vista\Ubuntu

The dmesg output from Ubuntu probably provides the best information, but I don't really know what it's saying.

Can anyone help me understand it?


[ 5699.418694] eth1: Link auto-negotiation speed 1000M bps full duplex
[ 5699.419762] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
[ 5709.452117] eth1: no IPv6 routers present
[ 5854.965077] ata7: lost interrupt (Status 0x58)
[ 5854.969020] ata7: drained 32768 bytes to clear DRQ.
[ 5855.062055] ata7.01: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[ 5855.062080] ata7.01: cmd a0/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 tag 0
[ 5855.062083] cdb 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
[ 5855.062086] res 40/00:03:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 5855.062094] ata7.01: status: { DRDY }
[ 5855.062128] ata7: soft resetting link
[ 5855.249611] ata7.00: configured for UDMA/66
[ 5855.265562] ata7.01: configured for UDMA/33
[ 5855.272559] ata7: EH complete
[ 5858.336665] BUG: soft lockup - CPU#2 stuck for 61s! [pulseaudio:1747]
[ 5858.336669] Modules linked in: binfmt_misc ppdev saa7134_alsa saa7134 ir_common v4l2_common videodev v4l1_compat videobuf_dma_sg snd_hda_codec_realtek videobuf_core snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec snd_hwdep snd_pcm_oss snd_mixer_oss snd_pcm snd_seq_dummy snd_seq_oss snd_seq_midi snd_rawmidi snd_seq_midi_event tveeprom snd_seq snd_timer snd_seq_device snd iptable_filter i2c_piix4 ip_tables x_tables soundcore snd_page_alloc nvidia(P) agpgart lp parport usbhid via_velocity crc_ccitt usb_storage r8169 mii ohci1394 ieee1394 floppy
[ 5858.336669]
[ 5858.336669] Pid: 1747, comm: pulseaudio Tainted: P (2.6.31-17-generic #54-Ubuntu) MS-7576
[ 5858.336669] EIP: 0060:[<c016f6fa>] EFLAGS: 00000202 CPU: 2
[ 5858.336669] EIP is at smp_call_function_many+0x16a/0x1d0
[ 5858.336669] EAX: 00000282 EBX: c2a33dc0 ECX: 00000018 EDX: 00000008
[ 5858.336669] ESI: c2a33ddc EDI: 00000002 EBP: f3843d9c ESP: f3843d78
[ 5858.336669] DS: 007b ES: 007b FS: 00d8 GS: 00e0 SS: 0068
[ 5858.336669] CR0: 80050033 CR2: b2dfa000 CR3: 33dba000 CR4: 000006d0
[ 5858.336669] DR0: 00000000 DR1: 00000000 DR2: 00000000 DR3: 00000000
[ 5858.336669] DR6: ffff0ff0 DR7: 00000400
[ 5858.336669] Call Trace:
[ 5858.336669] [<c0468280>] ? smp_callback+0x0/0x10
[ 5858.336669] [<c016f77f>] smp_call_function+0x1f/0x30
[ 5858.336669] [<c04682a4>] cpuidle_latency_notify+0x14/0x20
[ 5858.336669] [<c0573475>] notifier_call_chain+0x35/0x70
[ 5858.336669] [<c0161056>] __blocking_notifier_call_chain+0x46/0x60
[ 5858.336669] [<c016108a>] blocking_notifier_call_chain+0x1a/0x20
[ 5858.336669] [<c0161629>] update_target+0x69/0x90
[ 5858.336669] [<c01618e3>] pm_qos_add_requirement+0x83/0x100
[ 5858.336669] [<c01616f5>] ? pm_qos_remove_requirement+0xa5/0xb0
[ 5858.336669] [<f81f8746>] snd_pcm_hw_params+0x236/0x2e0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5858.336669] [<f81f93d9>] snd_pcm_common_ioctl1+0x629/0x8c0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5858.336669] [<c0319374>] ? copy_to_user+0x34/0x120
[ 5858.336669] [<f97be376>] ? snd_ctl_elem_user_tlv+0xf6/0x110 [snd]
[ 5858.336669] [<f97beeeb>] ? snd_ctl_tlv_ioctl+0xbb/0x1d0 [snd]
[ 5858.337031] [<f97be280>] ? snd_ctl_elem_user_tlv+0x0/0x110 [snd]
[ 5858.337031] [<f97bfd40>] ? snd_ctl_ioctl+0x0/0x520 [snd]
[ 5858.337031] [<f97bff2b>] ? snd_ctl_ioctl+0x1eb/0x520 [snd]
[ 5858.337031] [<f81f9a58>] snd_pcm_playback_ioctl1+0x38/0x3b0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5858.337031] [<f81f9e0c>] snd_pcm_playback_ioctl+0x3c/0x40 [snd_pcm]
[ 5858.337031] [<f81f9dd0>] ? snd_pcm_playback_ioctl+0x0/0x40 [snd_pcm]
[ 5858.337031] [<c01f519c>] vfs_ioctl+0x1c/0x90
[ 5858.337031] [<c01f0736>] ? putname+0x26/0x40
[ 5858.337031] [<c01f54c1>] do_vfs_ioctl+0x71/0x310
[ 5858.337031] [<c01f57bf>] sys_ioctl+0x5f/0x80
[ 5858.337031] [<c010336c>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
[ 5909.965077] ata7: lost interrupt (Status 0x58)
[ 5909.969020] ata7: drained 32768 bytes to clear DRQ.
[ 5910.062061] ata7.01: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[ 5910.062086] ata7.01: cmd a0/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 tag 0
[ 5910.062089] cdb 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
[ 5910.062092] res 40/00:02:00:08:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 5910.062100] ata7.01: status: { DRDY }
[ 5910.062137] ata7: soft resetting link
[ 5910.249610] ata7.00: configured for UDMA/66
[ 5910.265575] ata7.01: configured for UDMA/33
[ 5910.272332] ata7: EH complete
[ 5923.836663] BUG: soft lockup - CPU#2 stuck for 61s! [pulseaudio:1747]
[ 5923.836668] Modules linked in: binfmt_misc ppdev saa7134_alsa saa7134 ir_common v4l2_common videodev v4l1_compat videobuf_dma_sg snd_hda_codec_realtek videobuf_core snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec snd_hwdep snd_pcm_oss snd_mixer_oss snd_pcm snd_seq_dummy snd_seq_oss snd_seq_midi snd_rawmidi snd_seq_midi_event tveeprom snd_seq snd_timer snd_seq_device snd iptable_filter i2c_piix4 ip_tables x_tables soundcore snd_page_alloc nvidia(P) agpgart lp parport usbhid via_velocity crc_ccitt usb_storage r8169 mii ohci1394 ieee1394 floppy
[ 5923.836669]
[ 5923.836669] Pid: 1747, comm: pulseaudio Tainted: P (2.6.31-17-generic #54-Ubuntu) MS-7576
[ 5923.836669] EIP: 0060:[<c016f6fa>] EFLAGS: 00000202 CPU: 2
[ 5923.836669] EIP is at smp_call_function_many+0x16a/0x1d0
[ 5923.836669] EAX: 00000282 EBX: c2a33dc0 ECX: 00000018 EDX: 00000008
[ 5923.836669] ESI: c2a33ddc EDI: 00000002 EBP: f3843d9c ESP: f3843d78
[ 5923.836669] DS: 007b ES: 007b FS: 00d8 GS: 00e0 SS: 0068
[ 5923.836669] CR0: 80050033 CR2: b2dfa000 CR3: 33dba000 CR4: 000006d0
[ 5923.836669] DR0: 00000000 DR1: 00000000 DR2: 00000000 DR3: 00000000
[ 5923.836669] DR6: ffff0ff0 DR7: 00000400
[ 5923.836669] Call Trace:
[ 5923.836669] [<c0468280>] ? smp_callback+0x0/0x10
[ 5923.836669] [<c016f77f>] smp_call_function+0x1f/0x30
[ 5923.836669] [<c04682a4>] cpuidle_latency_notify+0x14/0x20
[ 5923.836669] [<c0573475>] notifier_call_chain+0x35/0x70
[ 5923.836669] [<c0161056>] __blocking_notifier_call_chain+0x46/0x60
[ 5923.836669] [<c016108a>] blocking_notifier_call_chain+0x1a/0x20
[ 5923.836669] [<c0161629>] update_target+0x69/0x90
[ 5923.836669] [<c01618e3>] pm_qos_add_requirement+0x83/0x100
[ 5923.836669] [<c01616f5>] ? pm_qos_remove_requirement+0xa5/0xb0
[ 5923.836669] [<f81f8746>] snd_pcm_hw_params+0x236/0x2e0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5923.836669] [<f81f93d9>] snd_pcm_common_ioctl1+0x629/0x8c0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5923.836669] [<c0319374>] ? copy_to_user+0x34/0x120
[ 5923.836669] [<f97be376>] ? snd_ctl_elem_user_tlv+0xf6/0x110 [snd]
[ 5923.836669] [<f97beeeb>] ? snd_ctl_tlv_ioctl+0xbb/0x1d0 [snd]
[ 5923.836669] [<f97be280>] ? snd_ctl_elem_user_tlv+0x0/0x110 [snd]
[ 5923.836669] [<f97bfd40>] ? snd_ctl_ioctl+0x0/0x520 [snd]
[ 5923.836669] [<f97bff2b>] ? snd_ctl_ioctl+0x1eb/0x520 [snd]
[ 5923.837036] [<f81f9a58>] snd_pcm_playback_ioctl1+0x38/0x3b0 [snd_pcm]
[ 5923.837036] [<f81f9e0c>] snd_pcm_playback_ioctl+0x3c/0x40 [snd_pcm]
[ 5923.837036] [<f81f9dd0>] ? snd_pcm_playback_ioctl+0x0/0x40 [snd_pcm]
[ 5923.837036] [<c01f519c>] vfs_ioctl+0x1c/0x90
[ 5923.837036] [<c01f0736>] ? putname+0x26/0x40
[ 5923.837036] [<c01f54c1>] do_vfs_ioctl+0x71/0x310
[ 5923.837036] [<c01f57bf>] sys_ioctl+0x5f/0x80
[ 5923.837036] [<c010336c>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
[ 5944.965067] ata7: lost interrupt (Status 0x58)
[ 5944.977914] ata7: drained 32768 bytes to clear DRQ.
[ 5945.062219] ata7.01: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[ 5945.062244] ata7.01: cmd a0/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 tag 0
[ 5945.062247] cdb 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
[ 5945.062250] res 40/00:03:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 5945.062258] ata7.01: status: { DRDY }
[ 5945.062295] ata7: soft resetting link
[ 5945.249721] ata7.00: configured for UDMA/66
[ 5945.257586] ata7.01: configured for UDMA/33
[ 5945.264327] ata7: EH complete

HAL9000
13-01-2010, 11:47 PM
If it ain't working anywhere, do you not think that the card itself might be faulty?

It's known to happen.

Go back to supplier and ask for them to test and provide proof it is working at 1Gb.

Agent_24
14-01-2010, 12:20 AM
Maybe it is faulty, I don't know. The Chip is a VT6130 and is meant to be able to do 1Gb, according to VIA

Just wondering if the errors listed could shed some light onto what was actually wrong...

Chilling_Silence
14-01-2010, 06:34 AM
Those errors are more related to your soundcard?

Do you not get any LAN at all in Ubuntu?

Erayd
14-01-2010, 09:56 AM
I'm with Chill on this - according to that output, your network card is working fine and is autonegotiating a full duplex gigabit connection.

The errors you're seeing are related to pulseaudio.

What makes you think your network card isn't working properly?

Agent_24
14-01-2010, 10:50 AM
What makes you think your network card isn't working properly?
Immediately after the VIA card going into 1.0Gb mode, the computer starts having issues, programs won't load straight away, eg if you click on something it might not do anything for half a minute. Then, when I tell Ubuntu to shut down or restart, the whole system just locks up. These problems do not happen any other time.

Basically the same problems happen in Windows too, and in windows the card always says "Cable unplugged" when it tries to go into 1.0Gb mode.

I also tried forcing 1.0Gb in the driver properties in Vista, but still it said unplugged and had issues.

The 1.0Gb LED lights up though, so it seems the hardware knows what's actually going on...


Do you not get any LAN at all in Ubuntu?
It works fine in 100Mbit mode, though.

Maybe I should try a different sound card... but what about "ata7: lost interrupt (Status 0x58)
" Isn't this related to the hard drives or such?

Speedy Gonzales
14-01-2010, 03:41 PM
Whats the mobo?

vinref
14-01-2010, 03:46 PM
Immediately after the VIA card going into 1.0Gb mode, the computer starts having issues, programs won't load straight away, eg if you click on something it might not do anything for half a minute. Then, when I tell Ubuntu to shut down or restart, the whole system just locks up. These problems do not happen any other time.

Basically the same problems happen in Windows too, and in windows the card always says "Cable unplugged" when it tries to go into 1.0Gb mode.

I also tried forcing 1.0Gb in the driver properties in Vista, but still it said unplugged and had issues.

The 1.0Gb LED lights up though, so it seems the hardware knows what's actually going on...


It works fine in 100Mbit mode, though.

Maybe I should try a different sound card... but what about "ata7: lost interrupt (Status 0x58)
" Isn't this related to the hard drives or such?

Your card is trying to connect to a IPv6 router ("eth1: no IPv6 routers present" in the dmesg). You don't have one do you?

Can you post the results of

lshw -C network.

Agent_24
14-01-2010, 03:51 PM
Whats the mobo?

MSI 790GX-G65, latest BIOS v4.0


Your card is trying to connect to a IPv6 router ("eth1: no IPv6 routers present" in the dmesg). You don't have one do you?

Can you post the results of

lshw -C network.

No IPv6 router, just IPv4. I assume that message is normal since I don't have IPv6?


*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 03
serial: 00:24:21:23:14:d9
size: 10MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=half latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=MII speed=10MB/s
resources: irq:30 ioport:c800(size=256) memory:f8fff000-f8ffffff(prefetchable) memory:f8ff8000-f8ffbfff(prefetchable) memory:fe9e0000-fe9fffff(prefetchable)
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: VT6120/VT6121/VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
logical name: eth1
version: 82
serial: 00:00:00:00:00:04
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=via-velocity driverversion=1.14 duplex=full ip=192.168.0.4 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
resources: irq:17 ioport:e800(size=256) memory:febffc00-febffcff

Speedy Gonzales
14-01-2010, 04:06 PM
Post ur ? in their forum (http://forum-en.msi.com/)

Agent_24
14-01-2010, 05:24 PM
I don't see much point in asking on the MSI forum just yet, what I was trying to establish was what exactly the errors in my dmesg output I posted were.

vinref
14-01-2010, 05:37 PM
...No IPv6 router, just IPv4. I assume that message is normal since I don't have IPv6?


*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 03
serial: 00:24:21:23:14:d9
size: 10MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=half latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=MII speed=10MB/s
resources: irq:30 ioport:c800(size=256) memory:f8fff000-f8ffffff(prefetchable) memory:f8ff8000-f8ffbfff(prefetchable) memory:fe9e0000-fe9fffff(prefetchable)
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: VT6120/VT6121/VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
logical name: eth1
version: 82
serial: 00:00:00:00:00:04
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=via-velocity driverversion=1.14 duplex=full ip=192.168.0.4 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
resources: irq:17 ioport:e800(size=256) memory:febffc00-febffcff

It is using the via-velocity driver, which I have had no experience with. The driver seems to be up-to-date.

It should not be looking for an IPv6 router by default, or you should be able to turn off this default behaviour. Unfortunately there is no manpage explaining how to turn this behaviour off.

Sorry, that's all I got to help you with.

Speedy Gonzales
14-01-2010, 06:13 PM
Why not its an MSI mobo isnt it. You'll probably find an answer quicker there than here

Jen
14-01-2010, 06:38 PM
Unfortunately there is no manpage explaining how to turn this behaviour off.No man perhaps, but woman with google How To Disable The IPv6 Protocol (http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-how-to-disable-the-ipv6-protocol.html). :p

I had to disable IPv6 when it first got enabled by default on Fedora (a few years ago) as it messed up my connection. I haven't had to disable it in later releases though.

vinref
14-01-2010, 11:13 PM
No man perhaps, but woman with google How To Disable The IPv6 Protocol (http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-how-to-disable-the-ipv6-protocol.html). :p

I had to disable IPv6 when it first got enabled by default on Fedora (a few years ago) as it messed up my connection. I haven't had to disable it in later releases though.

Bahahaha. I googled and googled for that sort of thing but got nothing.

Agent_24
14-01-2010, 11:47 PM
Why not its an MSI mobo isnt it. You'll probably find an answer quicker there than here

Yes but I though the dmesg log was important, thought I'd ask about it as a Linux question rather than an MSI Motherboard question.

I had hopes that someone might read it, and say "Aah! Now what you've got there is this that and the other thing, do this to fix it etc. I guess that isn't the case. Although it seemed a hell of a lot more descriptive than anything I would have been able to get out of Windows...


No man perhaps, but woman with google How To Disable The IPv6 Protocol (http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-how-to-disable-the-ipv6-protocol.html). :p

I had to disable IPv6 when it first got enabled by default on Fedora (a few years ago) as it messed up my connection. I haven't had to disable it in later releases though.

What did it mess up? I doubt it was anything as spectacular as my problems, though?

There could be something in what you say though, Vista also has IPv6 support by default, although the same isn't true with XP, which I also had problems in...

One thing that strikes me as weird is the MAC address. 00:00:00:00:00:04 just doesn't seem usual.

vinref
15-01-2010, 12:15 AM
...One thing that strikes me as weird is the MAC address. 00:00:00:00:00:04 just doesn't seem usual.

Errr. I missed that too. Yes, the MAC address does not look right.

ughnz
15-01-2010, 05:27 PM
From the look of it you may be having an IRQ conflict with your sound device.

Can you post an output from:
cat /proc/interrupts

Agent_24
15-01-2010, 06:35 PM
CPU0 CPU1 CPU2 CPU3
0: 89 87 883 22462 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 0 1 14 596 IO-APIC-edge i8042
4: 0 0 0 2 IO-APIC-edge
6: 0 0 0 4 IO-APIC-edge floppy
7: 1 0 0 0 IO-APIC-edge
8: 0 0 0 1 IO-APIC-edge rtc0
9: 0 0 0 0 IO-APIC-fasteoi acpi
14: 1 40 577 1905 IO-APIC-edge pata_atiixp
15: 0 0 0 0 IO-APIC-edge pata_atiixp
16: 0 0 6 1553 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb3, ohci_hcd:usb4, HDA Intel
17: 0 1 34 2607 IO-APIC-fasteoi ehci_hcd:usb1, eth1
18: 0 5 55 2375 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb5, ohci_hcd:usb6, ohci_hcd:usb7, ohci1394, nvidia
19: 0 36 585 7542 IO-APIC-fasteoi ehci_hcd:usb2
24: 10755 0 0 0 HPET_MSI-edge hpet2
29: 0 2 201 7723 PCI-MSI-edge ahci
30: 0 0 0 0 PCI-MSI-edge eth0
NMI: 0 0 0 0 Non-maskable interrupts
LOC: 80 8607 8940 4598 Local timer interrupts
SPU: 0 0 0 0 Spurious interrupts
CNT: 0 0 0 0 Performance counter interrupts
PND: 0 0 0 0 Performance pending work
RES: 8567 9836 8081 7523 Rescheduling interrupts
CAL: 9734 9049 5285 5800 Function call interrupts
TLB: 698 559 640 463 TLB shootdowns
TRM: 0 0 0 0 Thermal event interrupts
THR: 0 0 0 0 Threshold APIC interrupts
MCE: 0 0 0 0 Machine check exceptions
MCP: 1 1 1 1 Machine check polls
ERR: 1
MIS: 0

ughnz
16-01-2010, 01:15 PM
Umm.. From the look of the dmesg you posted the system is getting tied up processing IRQ requests. Are you using the irqbalance daemon?

Also it looks like you are using APIC, have you tried adding the noapic and nolapic options to the kernel at boot?

If you boot up with the options mentioned above and then look at another dump of /proc/interrupts it will show a better indication of what is sharing with what.

Agent_24
16-01-2010, 01:33 PM
Umm.. From the look of the dmesg you posted the system is getting tied up processing IRQ requests. Are you using the irqbalance daemon?

No idea, but system monitor does not show any process running called "irqbalance"


Also it looks like you are using APIC, have you tried adding the noapic and nolapic options to the kernel at boot?

If you boot up with the options mentioned above and then look at another dump of /proc/interrupts it will show a better indication of what is sharing with what.

I will reboot and try those options and post back very soon

Agent_24
16-01-2010, 01:41 PM
OK, I tried with noapic, nolapic and Result:

(By the way, IOAPIC is enabled in BIOS.)


CPU0
0: 15479 XT-PIC-XT timer
1: 97 XT-PIC-XT i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC-XT cascade
4: 1 XT-PIC-XT
6: 4 XT-PIC-XT floppy
7: 1625 XT-PIC-XT ohci_hcd:usb3, ohci_hcd:usb4, HDA Intel
8: 0 XT-PIC-XT rtc0
9: 0 XT-PIC-XT acpi
10: 7570 XT-PIC-XT ahci, ohci_hcd:usb5, ohci_hcd:usb6, ohci_hcd:usb7, ohci1394, nvidia
11: 8320 XT-PIC-XT ehci_hcd:usb1, ehci_hcd:usb2, eth0, eth1
14: 1380 XT-PIC-XT pata_atiixp
15: 0 XT-PIC-XT pata_atiixp
NMI: 0 Non-maskable interrupts
LOC: 0 Local timer interrupts
SPU: 0 Spurious interrupts
CNT: 0 Performance counter interrupts
PND: 0 Performance pending work
RES: 0 Rescheduling interrupts
CAL: 0 Function call interrupts
TLB: 0 TLB shootdowns
TRM: 0 Thermal event interrupts
THR: 0 Threshold APIC interrupts
MCE: 0 Machine check exceptions
MCP: 1 Machine check polls
ERR: 1
MIS: 0

With the noapic and nolapic options, the system hard locks instantly when the VIA card tries to go into Gigabit mode.

ughnz
16-01-2010, 02:39 PM
Ok, that is very interesting it looks like both network devices are sharing the same physical IRQ. Can you try moving the card to another slot?

I would suspect that the network card is generating allot more interrupts in gigabit mode and it is colliding with one of the other devices it is sharing with. This would explain the same behaviour when running under windows. Do you have any devices connected to the USB ports, like keyboard or mouse? try moving them to another USB port to see if that helps.

The irqbalance daemon is designed to help with distributing the servicing of IRQs across multi cpu systems and can help with the deadlock issue that was showing up in your dmesg output.

One other thing that can cause the problem you are having is if the system does not set the trigger level for the IRQ line correctly, i.e. edge vs level triggering. If this is the case then it is normally caused by faulty BIOS and/or drivers.

Next to trying another known working card it is hard to say if the fault is the mother board or network card. The total deadlock with APIC disabled would suggest the system was tied up in an IRQ service loop, which would suggest there is an issue with the network card or its driver. It would seem that the IRQ load with 100Mb is not enough to cause any collisions or contention issues, which would explain why it works OK.

I once spent nearly a week trying to get a SCSI card working correctly on a system that was having the type of problems you are having. In the end a got a better SCSI card, that must have had better written drivers, and the problem went away.

Agent_24
16-01-2010, 05:50 PM
I tried a different slot but still the same problem, but I didn't check IRQ, I didn't bother, since it didn't work.

I changed it out for a D-Link DGE-530T which works fine, but the problem is that it's PCI not PCI-E, so I don't know if that's why it works or not.

As I said before, the VIA card does seem to have issues on my old nForce 4 board (MSI K8N SLI-FI) as well. However that board also has onboard Realtek LAN and Realtek Audio. I don't have anything else with PCI-E slots to test it in.

I will do a more thorough test on the nForce 4 board and see what happens.

On another note, I think I have noticed a different problem with my tuner card and the 790GX-G65... :groan: