PDA

View Full Version : trouble checking disk errors. HELP!!!



jill
11-01-2010, 02:16 PM
When I bought my ASUS laptop a few months ago I was able to update From Vista Home premium to Windows 7 whe nit became available. I have received the install disc. I wanted to back up my files but I get a disk error message . I schedule a check and restart but nothing happens. I have manually entered a disk check on the task scheduler and it starts running on restart but after 2 days its still running and I have no results. Is there some way I can see progress?? :confused:
Also I have message from chrome.exe that my Java program is corrupted so I have tried to uninstall it to reinstall...as I can't check the disc error as recommended.I get a pop up asking if I trust Java, I tick yes but nothing happens. :crying
Help!!!!!!!!!! I want to clean up the disk errors so I can back up files and then install windows7

wainuitech
11-01-2010, 03:05 PM
Welcome to the PF1 Forums.


Click on the start orb, type in "event" ( without the " ) when event viewer displays click it, have a look through windows logs, esp the system and application - look for any errors, if there is a bunch of the same errors what are they, esp if its a disk error.

Also click on start, type in "performance" click on Reliability and performance - when it opens , under monitoring tools, click Reliability Monitor, if there are any errors the bar will be expanded, there will be a red circle with a X, where is the errors Eg: software / Hardware, by clicking on the X it will display the problem-- what does it tell you the problem is ?

jill
11-01-2010, 05:35 PM
Thanks for these suggestions:thanks
The first idea gives me an event 55 error .. no there are thousands of these. This apparently means my file system structure is corrupt and unusable and I should run a chkdsk but I cant!!!
The second suggestion gives me nothing of consequence.. some application errors which are not continuing.
What do you think?:eek:

wainuitech
11-01-2010, 06:32 PM
Have you tried running chkdsk Via the following method -- Click start Orb, type in cmd then right click it, run as administrator, in the cmd box type in chkdsk /r - you should get a message saying it cant run --- la de da ---- do you want to run on next restart - hit Y then reboot normally -- Does it run ??

If not you may have to do it from a bootable CD - do you have a vista DVD - if not then you can download the bootable/ fix section from here (http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/windows-vista-recovery-disc-download/) make the bootable CD, then boot from it, select repair my computer - and run chkdsk from the command prompt.

(never tried this as I have the correct CD's) You can try running the CMD from the W7 upgrade DVD, boot from the DVD, work through until you get to the point of installing, bottom left fix my computer -- BUT, you may get a message saying incorrect OS.

BUT if the OS is damaged you would be better off wiping the whole drive and loading in W7 from fresh - installing W7 over a dodgy ( broken) Vista will result in a shaky broken W7.

Bit like building a nice house on shaky foundations - house may be nice but wont last long, and the W7 upgrade can be a bit flaky on a good Vista install.

One of two things has happened -- Corrupted OS or drive has developed faults. (hard ware fault)

jill
11-01-2010, 07:28 PM
Thanks again. Cant run chkdsk that way.. nothing happens. It seems crazy cos everything works fine.There is no indication that there is any problem with the computer.
Vista came already installed so dont have any bootable CD.
I think it may be beyond me to sort. Have no idea how to wipe the drive and would need assistance for most stuff. How safe/hard is it to try fixing it from the downloadable bootable CD??

wainuitech
11-01-2010, 07:45 PM
Short / Non technical version of running chkdsk -- If its run from a CD, its another way of doing chkdsk instead of doing it Via the OS.

IF there are hundreds of the same error in the event log, then there is something wrong someplace. Its common to have a small number of errors but not good if there is a lot, esp all of the same error.

try this -- See what happens -- open the command prompt again from search,(right click /run as administrator) type in sfc /scannow press enter (note single gap between c /s). it should do a file check on the PC (may take 1/2 - 1 hour)

How safe ?? safe as any type of fix, sometimes it doesn't do anything, other times it fixes problems or can make it worse.

jill
11-01-2010, 09:27 PM
sfc/ scannow tells me that some corrupt files were found but it couldnt fix all of them. Details in C: Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log but access is denied when I try to open this.

wainuitech
11-01-2010, 09:36 PM
You may need full admin rights to read them, even if you are the administrator in your account it doesn't allow full access like the "real " Admin account.

To bring up the real admin account, follow The instructions here (http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/08/10/activate-enable-and-show-administrator-account-in-vista-welcome-screen/) - you can ignore step 4 completely, just follow the rest - once rebooted you will see the real admin account, log into that, and you should be able to open/read that report. Post back what it says.

To rehide the admin account if you want, open the cmd in the normal account and type in net user administrator activate:no

jill
12-01-2010, 10:24 AM
followed directions and cmd said it was successful. When restarted only my icon came up...no sign of a 'real admin account' !!!
Am feeling hopeless.

wainuitech
12-01-2010, 11:08 AM
Try it again, Had this happen once , second time it worked.

jill
12-01-2010, 01:07 PM
Nah, still no joy. Tried it a few times now.

wainuitech
12-01-2010, 01:27 PM
It's possible who ever did those instructions on the site got it slightly wrong - just checked on my own paper work.

Try again, but this time include a /

eg: net user administrator /active:yes

jill
12-01-2010, 09:10 PM
Yay. It works. But I'm not sure I understand what I see when i look at the logs. It seems like there is a log for activity on 11/1/2010 ( and also 30/12/2009) which involves a series of POQs up to number 83 which reports about unrepairable stuff. I tried to copy and paste it but I guess that doesnt work when I had to change users to access the internet. What should I be looking for?
PS thanks for your help so far. I guess its obvious I'm not very savvy..know how to use but dont understand it all.:thanks

jill
12-01-2010, 09:36 PM
Ok , I've figured out how to paste this
POQ 83 ends.
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e1 [SR] Verify complete
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e2 [SR] Repairing 2 components
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e3 [SR] Beginning Verify and Repair transaction
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e4 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-autochk_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_e3df6 655bee2ee3b\autochk.exe do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" :
Found: {l:32 b:Ii03DOTb1m+0tgE7aSpMqizm12+mq+Y/bTIX7wCz0/I=} Expected: {l:32 b:u1EGWTHmHtvJIJJNlrUC1G4pZ/+vzliRcfwNOtQ0Y8s=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e5 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" of Microsoft-Windows-Autochk, Version = 6.0.6002.18005, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e6 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-installer-engine_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_0565f7 37b0a68a4d\msimsg.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" :
Found: {l:32 b:rJjQpMov6RFR/ANZgM6yjPBBAv2qLuegmOlFoHZonLU=} Expected: {l:32 b:fjh0r7V8prfNo4M9sOQ+nSvufFxwrBGCJgdAzKQCkco=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e7 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-Installer-Engine, Version = 6.0.6002.18005, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e8 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-autochk_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_e3df6 655bee2ee3b\autochk.exe do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" :
Found: {l:32 b:Ii03DOTb1m+0tgE7aSpMqizm12+mq+Y/bTIX7wCz0/I=} Expected: {l:32 b:u1EGWTHmHtvJIJJNlrUC1G4pZ/+vzliRcfwNOtQ0Y8s=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001e9 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" of Microsoft-Windows-Autochk, Version = 6.0.6002.18005, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001ea [SR] This component was referenced by [l:160{80}]"Package_25_for_KB948465~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.0. 1.18005.948465-113_neutral_GDR"
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001eb Hashes for file member \??\C:\Windows\System32\autochk.exe do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" :
Found: {l:32 b:Ii03DOTb1m+0tgE7aSpMqizm12+mq+Y/bTIX7wCz0/I=} Expected: {l:32 b:u1EGWTHmHtvJIJJNlrUC1G4pZ/+vzliRcfwNOtQ0Y8s=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001ec Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-autochk_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_e3df6 655bee2ee3b\autochk.exe do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"autochk.exe" :
Found: {l:32 b:Ii03DOTb1m+0tgE7aSpMqizm12+mq+Y/bTIX7wCz0/I=} Expected: {l:32 b:u1EGWTHmHtvJIJJNlrUC1G4pZ/+vzliRcfwNOtQ0Y8s=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001ed [SR] Could not reproject corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:22{11}]"autochk.exe"; source file in store is also corrupted
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001ee Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-installer-engine_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_0565f7 37b0a68a4d\msimsg.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" :
Found: {l:32 b:rJjQpMov6RFR/ANZgM6yjPBBAv2qLuegmOlFoHZonLU=} Expected: {l:32 b:fjh0r7V8prfNo4M9sOQ+nSvufFxwrBGCJgdAzKQCkco=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001ef [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-Installer-Engine, Version = 6.0.6002.18005, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001f0 [SR] This component was referenced by [l:160{80}]"Package_25_for_KB948465~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.0. 1.18005.948465-113_neutral_GDR"
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001f1 Hashes for file member \??\C:\Windows\System32\msimsg.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" :
Found: {l:32 b:rJjQpMov6RFR/ANZgM6yjPBBAv2qLuegmOlFoHZonLU=} Expected: {l:32 b:fjh0r7V8prfNo4M9sOQ+nSvufFxwrBGCJgdAzKQCkco=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001f2 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-installer-engine_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_0565f7 37b0a68a4d\msimsg.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll" :
Found: {l:32 b:rJjQpMov6RFR/ANZgM6yjPBBAv2qLuegmOlFoHZonLU=} Expected: {l:32 b:fjh0r7V8prfNo4M9sOQ+nSvufFxwrBGCJgdAzKQCkco=}
2010-01-11 22:13:38, Info CSI 000001f3 [SR] Could not reproject corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:20{10}]"msimsg.dll"; source file in store is also corrupted
2010-01-11 22:13:39, Info CSI 000001f4 Repair results created:
POQ 84 starts:

Does it help????

wainuitech
12-01-2010, 09:46 PM
You should be able to get onto the internet with the Admin account -- But never mind if you cant - more than one way.

Open that log file again -- two things you can do, make a copy of it and paste it into the main C: drive OR open a simple word editor like notepad or wordpad (same thing if you cant find them, start type in wordpad -- click to open) then copy/paste into that the whole log. THEN save it to either the main C Drive, or a pen drive.

Then log back into your normal account, go to the C: drive and there will be the log file - copy/paste it back here.

Either myself or someone else will be able to have a look and hopefully see whats going on ( or not) as the case may be.


PS thanks for your help so far. I guess its obvious I'm not very savvy..know how to use but dont understand it all. :D its not a problem -- as I say to every one ask if you dont know - better to ask than make a complete :badpc::angry of it ;) -- Hey its a help forum.

Out of interest, what part of the country are you in -- reason for asking, if it cant be sorted, some "hands on approach" may be needed, and there are many experienced people here from all over that can be recommended. (hope that sounds right) :lol:

PS: gonna PM someone - they also may like to put in some other ideas.

Edited: Bit knackered tonight, but a quick look -- looks like a few damaged or missing files.

Burnzee
12-01-2010, 10:31 PM
Hi Jill

Try HDD Regenerator (http://www.dposoft.net/). Download using another computer and a flash drive if necessary. The free trial program fixes one sector at a time but gives you heaps of information. You can exit and restart HDD Regenerator if you want to fix another sector.

Anyway, hope this helps.

BURNZEE

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 09:42 AM
What version of vista was installed? 32 or 64 bit? And what version of windows 7 did you install? And it looks like windows installer is one of the probs. Its screwed, or its the wrong version. Thats what msimsg.dll belongs to

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 10:12 AM
Is or was Avira installed on this?? It looks like this can cause the Event ID: 55 errors in Windows 7. Here (http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=872028) and here (http://techblog.avira.com/2009/11/26/chkdsk-in-windows-7/en/). From the 2nd link

As far as we can tell from the current state of investigation, the problem occurs in special conditions, when an operation is performed upon an already deleted file. This leads to the situation that the NTFS driver / the windows 7 kernel deems the file system as corrupted (which it is not) and sets the dirty-flag of the NTFS partition. This in turn leads to the chkdsk-run on the next start of the system. In previous versions of the windows kernel, the operating system just returned an error.

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 10:28 AM
Looks like there's a Win7 chkdsk bug (http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2009/11/16/the-windows-7-chkdsk-bug-that-wont-go-away/). And here (http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2009/08/06/our-very-own-windows-7-chkdsk-bug/). I think I saw something similar after installing Win7 or an update. Before it booted into Win7, a black screen appeared with something to do with the registry. It only appeared once tho, and I havent seen it since

jill
13-01-2010, 11:49 AM
I haven't installed the Windows 7 yet. Trying to sort out the disk errors first. I am running Vista Home Premium on a 32 bit processer

jill
13-01-2010, 11:50 AM
and in response to speedy Gonzales, Avira has not been installed

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 12:09 PM
So, if you havent installed Win7 yet, WHAT files are you backing up, and what are you backing them up to? If this is a laptop? Since its a laptop doesnt it have a restore partition. So you can create cd's or a DVD ? If it does create them then do a clean install of Win7

jill
13-01-2010, 12:13 PM
yes this is an ASUS laptop which I am backing up to an external hard drive..Seagate. I was just giving the 'back up files' command. I can manually copy the important documents to the Seagate drive but dont know if I may lose something else important when Windows 7 is installed. I am also getting a message that Java is corrupted and I cant uninstall it to reinstall.

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 12:16 PM
Well if there's a restore partition on it and theres a program in the menu, to create cds or a dvd. I would create them. Then you wont have to back anything up. Then do a clean install. That'll probably kill those errors

Have you checked to make sure there are drivers for Windows 7 for it, before you install it?

jill
13-01-2010, 01:10 PM
I did download a thing to check I could install Windows 7 and it said Ok. A few people (inc Wainuitech) have suggested that it wouldn't be wise to intall a new system if the drive is faulty. Not sure whether the info from the CBS log suggested it is just corrupted/missing files.

Speedy Gonzales
13-01-2010, 01:37 PM
Well if its full of errors with vista and you get the same thing with Windows 7, you may as well replace the hdd. And since its still under warranty, I would take it back and get the hdd replaced for free

jill
13-01-2010, 04:27 PM
I have found the recovery DVd for windows Vista. Should I try to use it?? and, probably a silly question, when I put the DVD it shows the contents but doesnt run. How do I run it?

Sweep
13-01-2010, 05:19 PM
Put the disk in and boot restart your computer. You need to have the DVD drive set as first boot device in the BIOS.

fred_fish
13-01-2010, 05:46 PM
I have found the recovery DVd for windows Vista. Should I try to use it??
That will destroy all your data, same as a fresh install of Win7.