PDA

View Full Version : Help with driver, please



ianhnz
11-01-2010, 07:41 AM
Hi guys.

I have a Compaq s3100an. When I reinstalled my XP Home, a while back, I could get the ethernet to work :badpc: for my broadband.:mad:

I installed a PCI card and that worked, but I would like to get the "on board" ethernet to work.

I have tried, many times, to ask Windows to find it but it can't.

I have tried the Compaq site, to no avail. :help:

Any advise greatly appreciated,

Ian

Speedy Gonzales
11-01-2010, 08:26 AM
Go to device manager. Double click on the entry. Go to the details tab change it to hardware IDs, Copy (ctrl-c), whats here. Then paste (ctrl-v) it here

pctek
11-01-2010, 08:40 AM
I have a Compaq s3100an. When I reinstalled my XP Home, a while back, I could get the ethernet to work :badpc: for my broadband.:mad:

I have tried the Compaq site, to no avail. :help:


They don't have the chipset driver there but they did have this:
BIOS update for A7N8X-LA motherboard

Therefore I'd say that indicates that is what the motherboard in it is. (Amazing, a decent one).

So try the LAN driver (or chipset driver) off ASUS site - for that motherboard.

ianhnz
11-01-2010, 08:44 AM
Go to device manager. Double click on the entry. Go to the details tab change it to hardware IDs, Copy (ctrl-c), whats here. Then paste (ctrl-v) it here

Hey, Speedy, here it is.

PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0066&SUBSYS_80A71043&REV_A1\3&267A616A&0&20

wainuitech
11-01-2010, 12:41 PM
Go here (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/ProductList.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=307003&taskId=135) - locate the model, but select the S3100AP ( even though yours is the AN) download the XP network driver. All the 3100 series from memory use the same driver.

Agent_24
11-01-2010, 01:15 PM
They don't have the chipset driver there but they did have this:
BIOS update for A7N8X-LA motherboard

Therefore I'd say that indicates that is what the motherboard in it is. (Amazing, a decent one).

So try the LAN driver (or chipset driver) off ASUS site - for that motherboard.

I doubt it would be on ASUS website. The boards they make for companies like Compaq are custom built and are not retail boards and are not listed.

The board uses nForce2 chipset, so http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_udp_winxp_5.10.html should work.

Speedy Gonzales
11-01-2010, 01:23 PM
Well, no. The PC I fixed was HP or Dell or something. It had a P5P2L-E ASUS mobo in it. I went to the ASUS site, downloaded all the drivers and the BIOS.

Flashed it a few weeks ago (because the one that was on it was screwed / buggy / corrupt). Its been fine since

pctek
11-01-2010, 01:28 PM
I doubt it would be on ASUS website. The boards they make for companies like Compaq are custom built and are not retail boards and are not listed.
.

Crap. It's an A7N8X-LA motherboard.
Common as dirt.

Agent_24
11-01-2010, 02:36 PM
Crap. It's an A7N8X-LA motherboard.
Common as dirt.

Well I did not take the time to check that specific board but it's not crap, I've seen it before.

I've got an HP here with an Asus TX98-XV in it, have fun finding THAT on the Asus website (and please, be my guest, have a look and if you find it, let me know)

ianhnz
11-01-2010, 02:56 PM
Thanks guys.

Just installing drivers.

Let you know,

Ian

ianhnz
11-01-2010, 03:05 PM
Thanks, Agent_24.

The Nivida drivers worked.

Thanks to all for your helpful advice,

Ian

ianhnz
11-01-2010, 03:05 PM
Go here (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/ProductList.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=307003&taskId=135) - locate the model, but select the S3100AP ( even though yours is the AN) download the XP network driver. All the 3100 series from memory use the same driver.

Yes, sorry, that one didn't work.