PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Flashes on and off...Plz help



WestMclaren2004
20-12-2009, 11:12 AM
I've been having these problems lately and was wondering what's causing it.

After a few mins of normal use, the monitor flashes intermittently before increasing its occurence and period of time between screen and blacks.

I've swapped monitors. No change
Swapped DVI cables NO change

Could it be the PSU or Graphics Card failing?


Thanks a million.

Trev
20-12-2009, 11:15 AM
CRT or LCD Make model number.
:)

Sweep
20-12-2009, 11:39 AM
But as he has tried a different monitor how will the make and model number help?

Speedy Gonzales
20-12-2009, 11:45 AM
What OS?

Thebananamonkey
20-12-2009, 11:47 AM
It could be just about anything.

Give us details:
Graphics card
Monitor details/age
Operating system
Any recent changes to soft/firm/hardware

I had that happen when I updated from Ubuntu 9.04-9.10. As it was my second OS, I just deleted it and went back to only using Vista.

pctek
20-12-2009, 12:53 PM
Download a new graphics driver. If it is using the newest, download an older one.

WestMclaren2004
20-12-2009, 08:46 PM
What OS?

asus p5w dh deluxe
XP 32bit
256mb XFX 7900gt
Corsair 520W

3 years old.

Will try to rollback Graphics driver, but difficult as the MONitor flashes unexpectedly.....

Blam
20-12-2009, 08:54 PM
A quick way to test whether it is a driver problem or not-boot into safe mode

Tap F8 on boot and select safe mode with your arrow keys

Blam

Speedy Gonzales
20-12-2009, 08:58 PM
Christ, talk about BIOS updates, this mobo has 20 of them lol. Must be pretty buggy to have that many. What BIOS is on it? Its up to 3001. Is SP3 on it? What resolution have you set it to and the hertz? I would have a look in the forum (http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=P5W+DH+Deluxe&board_id=1). If it is a mobo issue

wainuitech
21-12-2009, 04:42 PM
if that setup is 3 years old, and there has been no problems before - I'd guess its more of a graphic card problem.

Has there been any graphic card driver updates done ?? If not then why all of a sudden is it playing up, apart from some sort of corruption somehow.

First I'd try a different card, or as Blam suggested try it in safe mode,since that only loads default drivers. If it plays up in safe mode, change the card.

borax
22-12-2009, 05:51 AM
you could try moving GFX card to another slot, that might be faulty

WestMclaren2004
22-12-2009, 01:10 PM
Sorry about the late reply, the computer's playing up as you could well imagine!


it can go into safe mode. It hasn't played up in sade made...yet

I've turned the resolution way down to maybe lessen the stress on it. and refreshing @ 60HZ.

I have updated the BIOs to 3001

I've also noticed that it cannot come out of standby or hibernate by moving the mouse or taping Spacebar. whenever i tap the spacebar, the CPU fans moves a bit, but nothing else. I'd have to push the power button to make it come out of standby/hibernate.

Could my PSU be short ciruiting everything?

KarameaDave
22-12-2009, 02:13 PM
If it doesn't do it in safe mode then that points toward your graphics driver.

Speedy Gonzales
22-12-2009, 02:38 PM
Or check the pins on the card. One of them maybe bent / not making contact

Blam
22-12-2009, 03:01 PM
If it doesn't do it in safe mode then that points toward your graphics driver.

Yep-uninstall them with DriverSweeper and install the latest again.