PDA

View Full Version : Teamviewer

minster
20-12-2009, 06:52 AM
Hi,
I have been talking online with a bloke in the UK that has been having trouble with his pc getting slower (Athlon 3500 2 gb ram)
I asked him what antivirus he uses and how often he cleans out/defrags his machine?
He said McAffe to the first question and didn't know you had to! to the 2nd.
I am thinking of trying to help him using Teamviewer but as I have never tried it before, would like to know just how much will TViewer allow the remote helper to do?
I see Teamviewer is suggested by some members here so thought you may be able to give me a clearer picture on the capabilities of this software please?
Your help is appreciated thank you.

Speedy Gonzales
20-12-2009, 07:04 AM
Everything. What a person can do sitting in front of a PC, you can do remotely. Its similar to remote desktop, but the person at the other end will see everything youre doing. It depends what the settings are (and what you change them to in teamviewer)

But it helps if the other person is on broadband, dialup can take ages to do anything. If he's got malware, tell him to boot into safe mode / networking then install teamviewer. Then tell him to send you the ID and password. I use it often. To remove malware from people's computers. I've even used it to log into my sister's PC over in Oz

Sweep
20-12-2009, 07:06 AM
You can use Teamviewer to do anything on the PC as if you were sitting at it.

This does, of course, exclude fitting new parts.

nedkelly
20-12-2009, 07:09 AM
Team viewer is like Remote desktop control except it is able to work over the internet with out changing any settings in your router or pc to connect.
It also allows the user sitting at the other end to also see what you are doing unlike Remote Desktop control.
When he installs teamviewer on his computer he will get an option shown to him to set the settings for what you can do. Make sure he does full control.