PDA

View Full Version : Complete Noob seeking advice about networking.

bubbybrat
16-12-2009, 09:49 PM
Ok So I want to network my house. Headache starts..... Now...:badpc::help:

right so I have

1 Dlink DSL 604T router or something like that(You know the one telecom gave out to broadband customers.. Has the wireless and 4 Ports on the back)

1 pc in a bedroom running windows 7
1 pc in the lounge running windows 7
1 storage pc (well it will be if I can ever figure out how to get this to work) running win xp
1 Pc in the office. running win xp

1 5 port ethernet switch(god knows if I need it but I have one)

What I want to be able to do is have the Pc in the lounge and the one in the bedroom be able to see the files stored on the storage pc. i.e play the movie files in particular.

The office PC and the bedroom PC have to be able to access the internet but the other two do not.

What do i need to do apart from network them all... which is a little beyond me. At the most I can plug them all into the router and they can all access the internet but not see each other (Thats about my capabilities)

oh and just to throw a spanner in the works.... sometimes I take the bedroom pc around to a friends and plug into his network and play lan games and I dont want to frig with that.
Understandably I could always get him to come round and sort it all out for me but this is something I'd like to try on my own.

Any Help very much appreciated

Speedy Gonzales
16-12-2009, 09:59 PM
Share A folder on all of them in windows 7, right mouse on the LAN on the taskbar / open network and sharing center. Click on change advanced sharing on the left. Enable the 1st, 2nd, and disable password sharing if you dont want to use it. if you dont want to use homegroup. open computer highlight homegroup, change settings, select leave homegroup...