PDA

View Full Version : laptop to tv



Buff_K
05-12-2009, 11:45 AM
Hi, this may be a dumb question but I cannot find the right cable to hook up my laptop to the tele.

The input on the tele is either RCA or S Video, and the output from the laptop is either HDMI or a a 15 pin port, I think thats VGA.

I went down to Dick smith and they said I needed a $100 converter box and thats the only way I could do it. Surely theres a cheap cable I can buy?

wratterus
05-12-2009, 11:46 AM
Obviously your lappy is pretty new while the TV is not. 15 pin port = VGA, HD-15, all different names fot the same thing.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables-adaptors/Monitor/auction-257156089.htm

Something like that may or may not work, depends on your TV and what resolutions it's able to display.

Driftwood
07-12-2009, 10:16 AM
I have just cut an old vga monitor cable to make up one of those adaptors.
I just need to connect a single single RCA plug.
Been googling pinouts, but still unsure which 2 wires to use.
I'm thinking pins 1 & 5

Agent_24
08-12-2009, 11:20 AM
The signal coming from a VGA cable and the signal that the composite input of your TV is expecting are different

You need the adaptor, it won't work.

If you are any good with electronics, you could make your own though. It should be cheaper than $100

sorry, should be http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/vga2tv/vga2palntsc.html

Driftwood
08-12-2009, 11:24 AM
So are you saying this adaptor wont work?

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/C...-257156089.htm

Agent_24
08-12-2009, 11:29 AM
I don't know but I am suspicious about this part:
"This adapter will ONLY work with VGA display cards that has TV-Out function capability"

Driftwood
08-12-2009, 12:46 PM
Well, I've just bought one on TM so we will see what happens.
My laptop has only VGA out but does have the "connect to a projector or other external display" feature.

wratterus
08-12-2009, 12:47 PM
Your lappy will be quite capable of it, it's more if the TV can handle the signal.

Driftwood
18-12-2009, 11:15 AM
Well guess what, it didn't work.

wratterus
18-12-2009, 12:00 PM
Did you try Fn + *Fkey* on the notebook? Normally F4 or F5, tells the notebook to output to the external device.

Blam
18-12-2009, 01:48 PM
I've found that the RCA>VGA cable only works for some TVs and Laptops.

If it doesn't work then you will need to get a scan converter box for around 70 bucks on trademe.

Blam

Driftwood
18-12-2009, 07:56 PM
Oh, the laptop detects the TV when it's connected & asks if you want to run it as a clone etc. But only with the svideo connection. The image then shows up on the TV as diagonal lines. So I guess it's converter matarial.